Ringu

I’ve enjoyed the Ring films since I first managed to watch them. To be honest they were the first subtitled films that I paid any attention to, so they’ll always have a special place with me.

While I wasn’t that fond of the american remake, I’ll admit it was competently done, if a little misguided.

I urge EVERYONE that ever enjoyed the Ring films (japanese or american) to rush right out and get these books. First published in 1991, Ring has gone on to sell almost three million copies in Japan.

Combined with it’s sequels, Spiral and Loop, Ring tells the full tale of Sadako and a certain video tape. Due in part to the success of the films, the books have been translated into english over the past couple of years. Many details not included in the films come to light in the books, making them essential for any fan.

I’ve never been made to feel uneasy by a book until I read Ring. So many things were left out of the movies that I really felt I was reading a new story. The sequels move the story in another direction altogether, away from the ghost story rehashes that the films became. Loop is the next book on my list and I’m having a little trouble finding it but, so far anyway, Koji Suzuki has already earned his way into my favourite authors list.

50 thoughts on “Ringu

  1. hi – thanks for the welcome – official or no, it's certainly appreciated. and i probably would believe the things you've seen. not much is beyond my wildest dreams…LS

  2. wtf ? 630? thats even 10 times more then me :DOf course you'r not pop as the poupe, but it's ok!N thnks for visting/writing me ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I'm still wonderin how you do that :p O ya… give credit where credit is due.. Thanks Mik for all the help you've given me so far ๐Ÿ™‚ (not to get all gooey on you) *firm handshake* ๐Ÿ˜€Your Page

  4. It's actually easier than it seems. I'll edit your post above and set up one of the links. Then you can edit it and see how it's done.

  5. That's okay. I stole something from your page that I'm posting tomorrow so even more people get to see it. ๐Ÿ˜† Don't worry though, I always give credit, and a link to the person since I learned how.

  6. The mobile master hands a quest to young apprentice. Goto the hidden land of Opera Mini Start Page. Enter the mystical words BB code into the Wikipedia box. Then your grimoire shall be complete, grasshopper.

  7. Mobile Master.. I have returned and gained 20 knowledge points and leveled up twice.. I've also completed the level and will now quest for experience :knight:

  8. You can block your own hits. Just go to your log in your account page, go to help/faq, 6th question down Blocking your own hits. Click on that than it will be at the top of that page, click on Blocking your own hits, follow instructions from there.

  9. That's the first time I heard (or rather read) someone insult someone else on Opera.. 'Stupid is as stupid does'Forrest Gumps mum once said. :rolleyes:And no cracks about 'Forrest' Mik! ๐Ÿ˜†

  10. A creepy man. Keeps going on about Michael Jackson being his hero. Then going on about kids and how they make him happy, although he says he has none. And then there's the vote… *shudder*

  11. No, it started because some people can't take constructive criticism about the way they phrase things. Maybe I touched a nerve? ๐Ÿ˜†

  12. I totally agree. I've only deleted one comment on this page and that's because it was on a photo of one of Kim's sisters and I found it inappropiate. Even then it was probably said in jest and I didn't send a mouthful of abuse back. I just posted a "this has pissed me off" message so the guy would know why his comment disappeared and that I know it was probably just me being oversensitive.Back to the current idiot, his vote was "Is it wrong not wanting to grow up?" with some weird answers. Combined with the rest of his blog and the kinda inboxes he sends, and comments he posts it all adds up to one seriously disturbed individual.

  13. Each person has their opinion right? also each man may speak their mind right? But if a person is clearly disillusioned and wont listen to reason and at least consider anothers viewpoint (thus respecting it) then what's the point of having a comment box? and what's the vote? :eyes:

  14. Guess they're out there.. Ignorant to a point where the only reason is their own. My guess is they were created for some special reason and their joy is to try and tick people off.. That vote… saw it and well,. someone needs a shrink..Quick!

  15. Francis is from "france" yeah….ummm….anyway, he looks like a redneck.(uneducated asshole)But what matters more, your blog is pretty cool. :up:

  16. We have a guy in Denmark called Peter Lundin who painted his face like you look on the photo – black and white – and then he killed a lot of people. So I got a little scared when I saw your picture. But it's actually kinda cool, as llong as you keep your asociassions for yourself ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. So, what do you all think of the game? I'm adding a few more and when I've tested them they'll be public with a link to them on this post.

  18. Aha! A woman with a plan. ThanksAnd it worked. You watch, I'll get one hit per day now. By Furie, # 4. April 2007, 17:51:45Your'e welcome ๐Ÿ˜†

Have Your Say:

