Sins Of The Father

I entered a creative writing and poetry competition on the BBC website last year. The objective was to write something about how you view the area you currently live in. I don’t actually come from round here so I wrote an objective outsiders view. I didn’t win, surprise surprise, because I didn’t bang on about how great this place is. I didn’t know it was a fiction competition.

What Did I Write?

Here is my entry but the site has presented it very badly and I swear they’ve edited it a bit too.

Once there was this young boy hanging out there on the street.
Everyone knew that he was a joke.
He thought he knew it all but he didn’t have a clue
So he cried when all his plans went up in smoke.

Then there was this young girl standing out there on a corner
Selling her love to the men she’d meet.
With decency in mind, the lawman threw her into jail.
Last night I saw her back out on that street.

I know that you’ve watched these stories played out for so long.
I know that, like me, you too once knew these kids.
Once there was an auction for these children’s innocence
And you were right there pushing up the bids.

Have Your Say:

