Battle Of The Messengers

I’ve been looking for a decent instant messenger client for my phone recently. The one I’ve got is good enough for occasional use, but it can be quite unstable so it’s not really suited to long conversations.

I’ve had quite a few problems finding a system I’m happy to use. The main problem I had was Spleak (the little talkative robot on MSN messenger) ignoring me and making me think things didn’t work. Of course, when I thought things didn’t work, I deleted them. It was only later that I found out she was just being an ignorant little cyber cow.

I swear, I’ve tried out so many mobile instant messengers the past few days that I’ll be happy never to talk to anyone ever again. I’ve also noticed something rather strange on the instant messaging scene.

ICQ, AIM, MSN, Google Talk, Yahoo. Five seperate messenger systems that require five seperate clients and they can’t interact with each other. What’s the deal? How come I can’t just sign up with ICQ and still chat with friends on MSN or any of the other ones?

This makes absolutely no sense to me. What if you signed up with a mobile network and could only send a text to other people on that network? Would you keep using that network? Of course you wouldn’t. How about e-mail? Would it have become the most used form of communication on the planet if you could only send mail to people who use the same provider? Would you use a telephone service that only let you call people using the same service? Of course not.

Something needs to be done to deregulate this. I don’t want to have to individually log into five seperate accounts just to chat to people. Surely I’m not the only one annoyed by this?

Oh, by the way, I ended up getting Nimbuzz for the time being. It’s not perfect, but for a mobile messenger it’s pretty good. So far it only supports MSN and Google Talk, but ICQ, AIM and Yahoo will be added soon. Also, the data usage is miniscule compared to most of the competitors. I recommend it to anyone looking for a decent mobile messenger.

16 thoughts on “Battle Of The Messengers

  1. I've been using Mxit in South Africa for over a year now.. Also mig33.. the latter being worldwide and you can earn cash for smsing and international calls. You earn it by inviting people to join and if they do you get a few australian bucks.. Needless to say I only use it for free calls. The downside of it is: awkward to use, crappy chatrooms, extremely rude people. But it's ok if you only chat private or use it for the airtime.Don't know if mxit will work your neck of the woods but try http://www.mxit.co.za/wap…and mig33.com :p

  2. I don't like mig at all. I've tried about twenty different messenger clients in the past few days. None of which were around last month when I was setting up my phone to start with. Nimbuzz has the VOIP calls just like mig. Plus you can "send buzz" to other people who're signed up. Basically it gives them a one ring call to let them know people are online waiting for them. Bet that's easy to abuse eh?

  3. None of the chat programs I've tried are revolutionary, and they all have their little quirks. For example, on Motorola C650 Nimbuzz can't even start, it doesn't respond to key presses. An email to support confirmed it will work in the next version :DBecause I have accounts on all respectable IM protocols, I can just take my friends with me on the best IM chat program I find. Even on the PC, it's not required to have multiple programs for all the protocols (I use and recommend the multi-platform Pidgin)And e.g. MSN (or is it Live ?) and Y!M can connect to contacts in both networks. And of course GTalk is an open protocol, meaning anyone can implement it easily in their chat application (that's what Nimbuzz does, btw).So, for mobile my short list includes GoTalkMobile, Nimbuzz, Mobile GTalk and of course Mig33. At least one will have a connection problem with one protocol once in a while, so it's best to be prepared.I do sympathise with Mik on "been there, tried that chat midlet", so trying MXit makes me shake my head in disbelief. So, Cois, do you want us to buy Moola now ?There may be one more avenue you haven't explored yet: IMPS, AKA "My Presence" on Nokia phones, "My Friends" on Sony Ericsson and "IM" on Siemens and Motorola. It's chatting (plus presence notification etc.) integrated in the phone's (operating) system. For free servers, take a look at Speago and PacketBox.I wish Opera Software setup an IMPS server, I mean we trust it with our secure Opera Mini sessions, so it's the next logical step. Or at least integrate chat into OM. In the mean time, I'm waiting for Google to upgrade gmail.com/app to include chat.

  4. I believe the upgrade you're after for the gMail app is being tested now. I've been researching the Google phone recently and can confirm it's not just a myth. A lot of their java apps are tests for the basics of the software that'll be built in.I'm happy with the systems I've got in place now for IM. Using a cracked version of Ultra IM plus, Nimbuzz and I'm waiting on the eBuddy app which should be released pretty soon.I wasn't aware that Google Talk allowed chat to all the other messenger types. I'll have to look into that further tonight and maybe find an app specially for that. Although Nimbuzz seems the most secure on my phone. Warning to everyone though. Don't ever bother with mOrange. I wont go into details, but it's not worth the data it's printed on.

  5. @dantesoft the moola thing just applies when using chatrooms, when you invite people privately you just pay for data transfer which is miniscule.. I once used 30 cents (too lazy to convert currency from rand to dollars) for 5 hours.. And yes it was just a test..

  6. you are not alone… except in the sense that you are naive… that would be about 99.9% of the brains on this planet.governments are not interested in the 'people'businesses are not interested in making things easier; just profitable.can you blame them?when you can become a billionaire in two years in our time? if you think of the next…. je ne sais quoi

  7. Just difficult to get it all sorted on mobile phones Issy. And annoying as hell when ya have to sign into everything several times a day. If only there was a client that let me add contacts from many different messenger systems, keep the same person's different contact details under one name, and only needed one set of details off me. 😦

  8. Every post that allows comments should automatically have one of those tags πŸ˜† Naive is a word that has never and can never be applied to me. Omniscient maybe, but never naive. I know these things are aiming at being profitable, not user-friendly. But most things that do that get into trouble with regulatory bodies. Using the phone analogy, if a network started only allowing it's users to call or text each other and no-one outside of the network, they'd be fined and told to sort it out or they'll end up being shut down. How instant messaging has gotten away with it's walled gardens for so long is a mystery.

Have Your Say:

