Why Are You Wearing That Stupid Man Suit?

I watched the special director’s cut of Donnie Darko last night and I’m torn now cause I can’t decide which version of the film I like best.

The regular version is more vague and open to interpretation, while the director’s cut makes things very clear about what has happened in the film. Personally I’m inclined to go for the original version because I like how unsure certain aspects of it are. It reminds me of life.

Whichever version people choose they’ll still get the same good story enhanced by some fine acting, especially from Donnie himself (Jake Gyllenhaal). Gylennhaal’s portrayal of Donnie is fascinating, funny and moving all at the same time. It’s the most human portrayal a film character has had in a long time. Here’s the blurb from the dvd box in case someone reading this hasn’t seen this marvelous film.

October 1988 and small town USA is about to witness the end of the world. Troubled, brilliant teenager Donnie Darko is plagued by terrifying visions and must unravel the strange occurrences infecting his school, his home and his life before a horrifying spectre known only as “Frank” can pull him over the edge of his sanity.

This is a film about a lot of things, primarily the way one person can affect other’s lives. It’s best described as It’s A Wonderful Life on acid, and the ending sequence packs more conflicting emotions into thirty seconds than many films manage in their entirity. It’s one of the few films that I’d describe as perfect.

24 thoughts on “Why Are You Wearing That Stupid Man Suit?

  1. It gets five out of five stars in my book. I'd go so far as to say it's one of the films you have to watch once, for the experience, even if you don't enjoy it.

  2. I saw it a while back.. excellent flick if you're into it.. :up: note: don't borrow people your copies.. especially in hicktown.. p.s. It's one of the few flicks I saw that I needed to see twice to fully appreciate..

  3. 😆 The first time I had a girl over.. talkative lil minx.. and I was a bit distracted by the twins.. Needless to say I had to watch it twice.. 😀

  4. My mate Gaz bugged his girlfriend for a threesome for months. She finally agreed and he told me bout it the next day.Originally posted by Gaz:

    I didn't know what to do. I poked her tits once or twice, kissed my girlfriend then left them to it, went downstairs and watched Bad Boys.

  5. hooray 4 boobies. 😀 If you guys ever get the chance to see some of the Rob Zombie videos you'll see where they have to blur out some of the metal chicks on their ol'mens shoulders at the metal shows.

  6. Okay, metal chicks are normally eight times the size of the guys they date. They weren't blurring the girls out, just the strain on the guy's shoulders. That's one of the reasons I got into Bon Jovi when I was young. A little romantic soft-rock music, cute girls looking for a long haired guy to make life complete. Kept my Judas Priest addiction to myself of course.:lol:

Have Your Say:

