Quake

Shit! We’ve just had an earthquake here a few minutes ago. I dunno how large it was officially, but it was shaking the house enough to knock me off my bed and to the floor as I was typing a comment. To be fair I was on the edge of the bed and having a smoke so it wasn’t that hard.

At first I thought it was a truck passing by, but it got louder and more violent. Typically the entire house slept through it, including Kim. I’m just back from checking the gas is still working with no problems and looking outside to see if a plane crashed nearby. Luckily the pipes are fine and there’s no smoke coming from anywhere so I don’t think any planes crashed.

Shit, that actually scared me. I’ve seen a few quakes before but nothing like that. Then again it could be down to the shoddy workmanship in the house that made it shake so much. Either way it shook me up more than I have been in a while.

102 thoughts on “Quake

  1. You have earthquakes in England? It's Signe. She's got a voodoo doll of the world. :eyes:You're alright then? Apart from having to change your pants and underwear, I mean. πŸ˜†

  2. Just because you asked mate, I feel compelled to inform you that I don't wear underwear. I swing free in the wind. :happy:.I'm actually more pissed at the twat next door thanks to this earthquake. Kim can sleep through that, yet he manages to be loud enough to wake her this morning.:mad:.Yeah, we get occasional quakes here. Last one I noticed was when we first got together. We were doing "something" and suddenly the house started shaking for about 15 seconds. I held Kim tight til it stopped then said "Did the earth move for you too?" We got the giggles badly from that.:lol:

  3. Sometimes the right words just fall into your mouth.Hey, I finally settled on a comment background and got it working. How's it look your end?

  4. They told about your quake on the news here this morning. :eyes: They said it was measured to 3.7 on the Richter scale. I'm glad you're both ok! πŸ™‚

  5. Both Mart, both. :D.Yeah Carol for some reason it has to be doubled up. Whenever I put one that fits properly it didn't show. :irked:

  6. :eyes: I read about it this morning. Media here reports 5,3 on the Richter Scale and the epicentre close to Lincolnshire.Glad you're ok!

  7. After all, it seems you have been smoking cigarettes πŸ˜€ I have read it on news too. It seems it lasted pretty long, right?

  8. Everything longer than 15 seconds is long. Sometimes it is enough to make damages on structure of buildings.The last deadly one in Pakistan lasted about 10 minutes :yikes: Results were obvious :eyes:

  9. earthquakes are scary… *hugs* we've got it pretty often here 😦 the last one we had, was so huge (it happened in the middle of the night) we couldn't even stand on the ground as it was too shakey :ko:. i'm glad you're both ok πŸ™‚

  10. Ooh earthquake.. Never experienced one or any other natural disaster.. Except a flood but I was real young.. Glad you ok mate..

  11. All kidding aside Mik, I'm glad you're all ok on that side of the "pond".:happy: Seems a shame though, that the fat bastard made it through…

  12. In 1998 we have had one that lasted for about 30 sec and the epicentre was near the surface so we felt it harder because of the type of amplitude. I will never forget that sound coming from my building :yikes:At one moment I said out loud "OK, now stop!" and it stopped. I am still wondering if I should say it earlier πŸ˜›

  13. No big deal. It just came as a bit of a shock. I should specify the actual violent shaking was only between 15 and 30 seconds. The rest was a rumbling sound and small vibration getting closer then further away.Christ's sake Fan, that sounds terrifying. I hate stuff like that. Yours too Clint, though I think I'd rather drown than be crushed to death.Dennis, if cockroaches can survive a nuclear war then I'm pretty sure they can survive a small quake.

  14. There? Wow! I survived the quake of 98 here (on my island)! πŸ˜€ The damage that one did was incredible and so shocking. Sadly, 8 people died, 6 elderly and one 8 year old girl and a baby. :(It struck at 4:50 a.m. and yes, I happened to be wide awake! TheyΒ΄re predicting another for the Azores for 2008. :yikes:http://images.google.pt/imgres?imgurl=http://www.geocities.com/TheTropics/8854/fotos/sismo3.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.geocities.com/TheTropics/8854/sis_p.html&h=370&w=570&sz=27&hl=pt-PT&start=5&tbnid=jzApRZWxwcfzAM:&tbnh=87&tbnw=134&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dsismo%2BFaial%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Dpt-PT%26sa%3DG

  15. Ouch, poor things. 8 years old is no life. Old enough to have an identity, not old enough to use it. That's awful.Don't worry Dennis, I've started my own religion where I'm God. Join the Brotherhood of Furie and you too can survive the other religion's judgement day.

  16. Well each God has a different name. I always find it egotistical of the Christian God to call himself God as if he were the definitive one. His real name's Cecil. Last time all us Gods got together, me and Thor gave him a wedgie over it. :up:

  17. Well, having been raised Roman Catholic, and now also a pastafarian(I got into trouble at work over that), an ordained minister of the Champion Church of Christ( 1,000 USD), I'm also considering becoming a Walkie. And a Furie. Whew! With all of these religious holidays I may not have to work at all, and still get paid!:happy:

  18. Speaking of which, your new member picture scares me. πŸ˜₯ I keep expecting it to crawl out of the screen and kill me like in Ringu. :insane:

Have Your Say:

