What’s In A Name

Names are important. We get angry when our names are pronounced incorrectly by people. We want to see our names in lights. We want to change our names if we feel they don’t suit us. We can spend months deliberating over the right name for our children. Some religions used to stone their followers to death if they spoke their god’s name. Many years ago people believed that spirits and demons could be called if we only knew their names and recited it three times. Some urban legends still state that saying a certain killer’s name several times into a mirror will summon their spirit behind you and that the spirit will kill you.

Why do we (members of a supposedly civilised species) hold so much importance in a simple word? Surely our worth as people is measured as the sum of our actions and how those actions affect others, so what’s in a name? Well, quite a lot according to some recent studies.

I’ve always said that names can affect the sort of person you become. The theory is sound – basically, a Jack is more likely to become socially well adjusted than a Cecil, due to the way they get treated in life because of their names. And now it appears that science agrees with me.

This is a table showing the names most associated with attractiveness, luck and success. So if you’re a Sophie or a Ryan, you can be safe in the knowledge that the world thinks you’re more attractive usually. Jack and Lucy are apparently more lucky than most which could also explain why Jack has a better time than Cecil. James and Elizabeth wont read this article cause they’re far too busy being successful. How about you? Can you see your name on the list and does it work for you or someone you know?

I’m happy to report that “Michael” (basically my own name despite a drunken mother’s crappy spelling) is one of the few names to appear on all three lists meaning that I’m one of the more lucky, attractive and successful people around.

See, told you I’m great.

49 thoughts on “What’s In A Name

  1. ย ย Caroline is, though. ๐Ÿ˜€ Which is (sort of) French for "little Carol" or "Carol like" (sort of). ย ย Please note that there is no 'Dennis' on any list, which is obviously an oversight… *sniff* :irked:

  2. My name is never in the lists, guess that means I have to make whatever I like out of my life and that'll be great ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. According to some old manuscripts and researches, my name meant "unselfish in good deeds" about 1000 years ago. So, I will never be rich, attractive or lucky, but people of all three groups will need me to achieve what they are meant for :happy:Everyone has its purpose in this world, right?

  4. Interesting – I know that a Danish company, who lend out money, have made statistics over names too. It seems that people with certain names generally are worse payers than others.This has got more to do with something socially: poorer people gives their kids other names than richer people.

  5. Thanks for making me feel like a unsuccesfull, luckless, ugly git Mik.. :irked: *gets torch* lets see how lucky you are .. :devil:

  6. Since my name is not English, I wouldn't expect it to be on this list.Still, I'm like allangie – never on any name list.

  7. I'd just got it insured and copied it to my files too. :eyes:.*collects on the insurance and quickly reuploads the blog*:cheers:

  8. It is 62 miles offshore where the international laws of the internet apply. :yes:.*awards Dennis a PhD in Rocket Science*I bought one of those once as a "replacement". Only cost me ยฃ20 and made a great talking point.:cool:

  9. How common is it to have more than one name in the UK? For instance, in Sweden it's sort of a tradition to give your kids three names, but only one of them is used. Statistically, that would mean a higher chance of hitting at least one of the lists…

  10. Kind of two fifths each way for just first names and middle names (including first name and middle name hyphenated). Then about a fifth have multiple middle names, or a hyphenated first and middle name followed by at least a second middle name.Does that make sense? It's hard to explain.

  11. These theories tend to work on the name you're most known by though – usually the first name. Shortenings can affect it too. Chris and Christopher are likely to have very different treatment and become very different people despite essentially being the same name.

  12. It does make sense, thanks :up:.Shortenings and nicknames are much more common in Sweden than in Norway. Quite interesting, really. In Norway people tend to have at least two first names, and they almost always use them both. Back in the early 80's when the American soaps first started airing in Scandinavia, some people in Norway (mostly on the west coast I believe) thought it would be good idea to name their offspring after characters in the soaps combined with traditional Norwegian names. This, of course, resulted in some hilarious combinations such as Blake-Harald ๐Ÿ˜†

  13. Having a hyphenated name wasn't the coolest of things when I was younger either… But hey – it's two in one :D.

  14. I only got one name! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ something weird about my surname though.. My mum has my dads' surname but we the kids have my mums' ๐Ÿ˜€ there's a story there but not very interesting..

  15. Are you nuts? ๐Ÿ˜† my mum and dad got married after we were born so our surnames never got changed to my dads'.. They put it off so long they never got around to it.. ๐Ÿ™„ been meaning to have it changed but I'll wait a while.. ๐Ÿ™„

  16. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Are you calling me cheap?! :lol:Cois – it does sound interesting :sherlock: Mik isn't right, is he? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  17. Let's put it this way.. You both are smegging smegheads ๐Ÿ˜€ now none of your names appear on the board.. :up:

Have Your Say:

