Reader

Yet more hilarity from the legendary Bill Hicks.

I was in Nashville, Tennessee last year. After the show I went to a waffle house. I’m not proud of it – I was hungry. And I’m alone, I’m eating and I’m reading a book, right.

The waitress walks over to me,
“Hey, what you reading for?”

Isn’t that like the weirdest fucking question you’ve ever heard? Not what am I reading, but what am I reading for… Well, God damn it, you stumped me. Why do I read? Hmmm, well…

I guess I read for a lot of reasons and the main one is so I don’t end up being a fucking waffle waitress.

But then, this trucker in the next booth gets up, stands over me and goes:
“Well, looks like we got ourselves a reader.”

What the fuck’s going on here? It’s not like I walked into a Klan rally in a Boy George outfit, God damn it! It’s a BOOK!!!

26 thoughts on “Reader

  1. Feline instinct. But I'd rather be the cat than the mouse. Better to be the dog (wolf?) than the cat. And being a Troll/Dictator/Godhead/Guru/ambassador trumps them all. As for moi, I prefer being on the outside looking into the menagerie. :whistle:

  2. it gets even worse . . . if you don't know the 'lingo' of the waffle house, you don't get what you have ordered. neither the waitress nor the cook know what potatoes are unless you (you-the customer) knows how to speak thier language and it is not english — it is lingo! i love waffles at night around this time of day! wish i had a cowboy to cook for me right now! :chef: i'd order buscuits and gravy with bacon on the side, eggs over easy – please sir.

  3. You mean photos of what it should be, right? Minus the burnt or uncooked bits, the soggy lettuce and the unidentifiable other crap?:sst: i read yesterday that Russell Crowe might be doing a movie on Bill Hicks

  4. "Dear <non specific deity>, No!" pretty much sums it up.Anyone wondering about my reaction, check out the quote on my sticky post. It's another Hicks classic. Compare these two and you'll see why the guy still deserves recognition after 14 years and why Crowe will ruin it.

  5. been awhile since i read your stickypost nik. that's refreshing, thanks for reminding us that it is there. it has been awhile since i picked up a real book (other than a magazine) to read also. maybe i'll make a trip to the library and see if i can check-out the book, since i have no more room on my bookshelves to buy it. i'm looking forward to reading this. thanks again. deb. :cheers: haven't cared much for mr. crowe's acting . . . . at first i liked him, but he quickly wore out his stardom in my opinion. :zzz:

Have Your Say:

