True Romance

I wanna tell you a story about true love.

We’ve all heard the story. Boy meets girl online. They are a similar age and have similar interests so they start chatting more and more, then eventually fall in love. Within months they’re living together and planning a wedding. It’s a common story, shared by the two people pictured above as their Second Life avatars at their virtual wedding. But, as with all virtual things, reality can be a pretty tough pill to swallow.

In real life these people aren’t the mid-twenties go getters they pretend to be online. Must have been a shock for them when they finally met offline in real life, but it didn’t stop the virtual love. In fact this image is from their real life wedding, so they obviously didn’t mind the fact that they’d been deceiving each other with their fantasy lives.

However, when Amy discovered her new husband was cheating on her she’d had enough and filed for divorce, both real and virtual. She’d already caught his avatar having sex with a virtual prostitute (look in the mirror right now to see the expression I had when I read that) but they’d managed to patch things up.

More Information About Cyber
The truth about Cyber
Teen redhead gets ready for Cyber
Sweetangel13 shows how it’s done

I went mad. I was so hurt. I just couldn’t believe what he’d done. I looked at the computer screen and could see his character having sex with a female character. It’s cheating as far as I’m concerned. But he didn’t see it as a problem, and couldn’t see why I was so upset. He said I was just making a big fuss and tried to make out it was my fault for not giving him enough attention.

But then, in April this year, she caught her husband’s avatar in another compromising position.

She claims he was having cybersex with a female player in America.

I caught him cuddling a woman on a sofa in the game. It looked really affectionate. He turned off the computer monitor and I turned it back on and demanded to look at his chat history. But he turned off the computer so the history was all deleted and I ended up going off in floods of tears. He confessed he’d been talking to this woman player in America for one or two weeks, and said our marriage was over and he didn’t love me any more, and we should never have got married.

Gee, sucks to be her eh? Well the unhappy couple have each found someone else now. Dave is dating the 55 year old virtual stripper he was last caught cheating with, and Amy found her true love on World of Warcraft. You’d think by now they’d have learned that their happiness isn’t going to be found online. At least not without them being a little bit more honest about who they really are. Oh well, that’s internet romances for you.

46 thoughts on “True Romance

  1. I heard that story on the news here too, and the expression on my face was just like yours when I heard about "having sex with a virtual prostitute". πŸ™„

  2. If ya had a mirror to look into when ya read about the cyber whore, then you have some idea of what the smiley for this post should looklike. πŸ˜€

  3. This reminds me of an issue of Ultimate X-Men I read where The Beast is talking online with someone he assumes is all but perfect for him – female, exceptionally intelligent, mutant rights advocate, etc. But 'she' was actually The Blob … By the way … nice background!

  4. people are strange and some desperate… how sad life is for some people. Some people seriously need therapy and a reality pill. :insane:

  5. It was for someone else's page theme that I did last year, but she doesn't use the theme anymore so I swiped the background for myself. πŸ˜€

  6. I think it was the defining event that 'made' Beast gay …(Well … that and turning into a big tiger and losing interest in his former girlfriend and just wanting to give the media something to think about besides mutants for a while … πŸ˜‰ ).Amazing what I can still pick up from comics even though I can't afford to buy many these days … I love the library and trade paperbacks! πŸ˜†

  7. Could be, because it looked ok I think when the update came out, if I remember right. It probably started when they worked on the update problems.

Have Your Say:

