Their Fault – A Child Betrayed, Innocence Lost, One Brave Child’s Journey Through Darkness

I’ve noticed a disturbing trend developing over the past few years. Tragic life stories. You must have seen them in bookshops, supermarkets, and pretty much anywhere that books are sold. They all have sepia covers, usually with a child crying on there, and names like Betrayal or Used.

The book that started it all was “A Child Called It”, a truly disturbing account of one man’s torture by his horrific parents and his struggle to regain a normal life. That book had two sequels and I recommend them to anyone interested in this sort of literature, and anyone who thinks that their childhood was bad. Fast forward a few years and it seems like everyone who has had any difficulty in growing up is writing their story in one of these tragic life books and it’s getting ridiculous. Yes, a lot of kids were, and in fact still are, mentally, physically and sexually abused by their parents. However a lot of these books seem to be using that as an excuse for them getting into drugs or prostitution later on, and not everyone who went through these things ends up that way. In fact some people have it much worse and don’t end up that way.

As you can probably tell, these things piss me off no end. To the point that I’ve written my own little tragic life story. This is entirely fiction, but don’t be surprised if it ends up in the tragic life section sometime soon as a “harrowing true story of a child betrayed.”

It started when I was six years old. I was a normal child, if a little naive. One day I was out shopping with my family and I decided to steal a chocolate bar. My so called father caught me and told me I was a bad boy. Can you imagine the humiliation of being told that in public? From then on the torture continued and it only got worse.

When I was ten years old I was happily playing in the living room with the cat. I was just about to cut it’s tail off with an electric carving knife that I’d snuck out of the kitchen. My mother walked in and took it off me, stifling my creativity. And the stupid bitch wonders why I became a heroin addict when I was older. It was all her fault!

Daddy once told me that Santa Claus brings lumps of coal to bad little boys and girls. He said that so that he could control me and stop me from cutting my baby sister’s hair completely off. What a monster!

Mummy told me that running with scissors is bad after I fell over and cut my arm. She blamed me! Can you believe that??? Blaming me for hurting myself. It was one of the few times that I managed to get revenge on my evil parents though as I started cutting myself to teach them a lesson. They’ll know it’s all their fault when they see the scars, not that they’ll care anyway.

I became a prostitute when I was sixteen, selling my flesh to strangers to feed my heroin addiction. Of course, I realise now that my family had been forcing me to prostitute myself for years. Can you believe that these creatures even made me bow my head in prayer at every meal? How hypocritical that evil people such as this should worship their false god and try to force these beliefs on their own children.

Wah wah wah! Everything bad that I’ve ever done is everyone else’s fault. I’ve had such a hard life. Feel sorry for me. Wah wah wah!

All Joking Aside

Thousands of children suffer in silence at the hands of their abusers every minute of every day. If you want to help them, buying these books wont make the slightest difference. Find out what your local nationwide child protection charity is and make a donation there, even if it’s just to volunteer some of your time. Please, help to give these children a voice before it’s too late.

30 thoughts on “Their Fault – A Child Betrayed, Innocence Lost, One Brave Child’s Journey Through Darkness

  1. I can easily envisage your story becoming a best-seller considering some of the drivel that gets published. This one at least made me smile in places which makes it better than some of the books I have read. :DOne thing I've never understood about these stories… how exactly do you write a sequel for this sort of book? Surely you already wrote everything in the first book. πŸ™„

  2. I imagine the first book to be: "Oh Look How Bad My Life Is Because Of My Childhood But Look I'm Starting To Get A Bit Better"And the next one? "Oh Noes Something Reminded Me Of An Instance I Wrote In The Last Book And Now My Life Is So Much Worse And I Remembered Lots Of Other Bad Stuff I Didn't Put In The Book" The one after that? "I'm Still Trying To Not Be A Drug Addict / Prozzie But It's Too Hard Because Everyday People Abuse Me In Some Form, Oh Mother Why Didn't You Love Me, Waaa Waaa" …and so on.

  3. Damn straight Tils.Sounds interesting Kiran. Not my cup of coffee though.Moe, the first book was about his childhood. The second was the court battles to save him and growing to learn love with a foster family. And the third was about the man he's become and dealing with the scars left behind. Haven't read them all, but they're the only ones with sequels.Kim, stop stealing my chapter titles for my tragic life story book. You remind me of when my mother gave my sister one more chip than I had which made me burn the house down. And they blamed ME! πŸ˜₯

  4. Another thing I'm curious about : who buys and reads these books? Are any of them uplifting stories? I can't understand why anyone would buy a book filled with misery where the one overriding theme is 'other people fucked me up'.

  5. :left::right: I read that book, Mart, I read the first one. This trend was called 'selling the drama' in my time, back in the good ol' 90s

  6. Oh… And also, a book called 'nobody nowhere' by Donna Williams. It's her autobiography. She was born with autism. It's a good read :up:

  7. I don't think i'd ever read such a miserable book :yuck: sure people would like to know how they overcame their abusive life.I wrote a book. Made a million bucks.

  8. Oh yeah, the sepia covers…Books like these aren't exactly my handbag. Although I can feel sorry for children like the ones in Austria kept prisoners for many years, I don't see myself buying the book. And I definitely don't see myself believeing buying the book will help kids who suffer today.

  9. I loved the movie.I loved the way it ends,the children selling their abusive parents to the organ trafficker.:lol::eyes: Thank you for posting the picture.I had posted just a link there.

  10. I get the point, Mik. But to my own experience, the books do help. I hate to share this, it may sound like bragging, but it's just a simple example. A couple of years ago, my gran had a maid, a woman in her mid 20s. Sometimes she'd take her 4 year old daughter to our house. So, while the mum was working the little girl would play around in our backyard. She was very "different", she'd eat flowers or grass and nobody played along with her. I was curious, I asked the mum what was wrong with her. I could see that she couldn't "communicate" with anyone, even with her mum. Her mum said she had Autism, which I gathered from her explanations that she and her hubby thought that she was retarded, had no future and all. No, they did not "abuse" her, not physically. But I could see that they felt like they'd lost hope of having a kid to put in school (it was worse because they were economically struggling), to have a life etc.After I read the book Nobody Nowhere, I realised that she wasn't retarded, and what really amazed me was that everytime I tried to communicate with her, she did seem like she "understood" what I was saying. And she was great at drawing and basic maths, and I trully considered her "genius". I told the mum about the book, and how an autistic child could also have a life, Donna Williams even had a university degree. She didn't buy it, she and the hubby had decided to give her away to the kid's granny in the countryside, a place where even electricity was considered a luxurious thing. And she was going to spend her life having both her legs locked between two pieces of woods. That's what they do to "different" people. I knew I had to do something. So after a long talk with my dad, we agreed to put the child in a playgroup (pre-kindergarten) where the teachers are familiar with kids with autism. The kid enjoyed it and she got along very well, even though she couldn't make lots of friends there. If I didn't read the book, her parents might have never seen the fact that she wasn't retarded and that they weren't hopeless after all, and she'd have been living in a "prison".This is what Donna Williams said :

    And so I happened that I did find out why I was like I was, but also in time why I was so much more than any label and that however strange a fruit I was I was part of the diversity of society, however discarded and discardable I was I had the paradise of society's peripheries to hang out on, out with the other misfits, the eccentrics, the artists, the wackos, the Auties, the Nobodies who would hide their souls too long and finally join us in a place where Simply Being was not a dirty word in a world of appearances.

  11. Hmmm, I missed a few comments. :irked:.Fan, the thing in there that stands out the most is "both her legs locked between two pieces of wood". What the hell is that about? :yikes:.Mixed Answers To People – Okay, I'll concede that these books may raise awareness a little which will occasionally help someone in need (I must say here that this post is more about the "I was abused so I did drugs and became a prostitute. Isn't my life awful. Feel sorry for me and buy my book" crowd than anything else as they're the only ones I've seen here in the tragic life sections.) but, as far as I'm concerned, if we need books like this to make us open our eyes then the world's in a sorrier state than even I thought. And the problem is that the majority of people who read these things wont ever use them for something like that even if given the chance; they'll use them as a way to feel better about their own lives while satiating their own morbid curiosity of the horrors these kids supposedly go through. All the while telling people how they understand better than most after reading them and spouting the infamous "I should know." statements just because they've read one of these books. Hang around a supermarket book aisle any time on any day and you'll get someone saying that sort of thing to someone else as they pick up the latest tragic life story with the same hungry look in their eyes as a horror fan picking up the latest slasher gore-fest DVD.

  12. Both her legs locked between two pieces of woods? The woods are nailed to the bed or sometimes just to the floor(people with better financials would use chains or cages). They get the food delivered, locked away from the world because the family are ashamed of them. They're treated like animal because they're 'different', that means less 'human' :irked:.Yes, I agree that these books also make people feel better about themselves, their lives, and sometimes that's just it. Sad but true. Look at the bright side of it, this trend could be everyone's plan B (or C) to survive. When your life's so screwed up, go write a book, make some million bucks, and buy yourself a bottle of champagne :left: :doh: maybe everyone was born with writing talent after all πŸ™„

  13. Why can't they just create their own country and wage war on humanity like the rest of us. :irked: It's a lot healthier.That is truly fucked up. That still happens in Indonesia?

  14. :up: Funz,just want to salute you knowing what you did for the little girl.Actually I am from the "second" caste in the caste system.But I am going to protest against the caste system through my blog.I want to eradicate the caste discrimination.

  15. So many people think that hiding differences or "tolerating" them (a term I hate as it implies that to be different is wrong, but we'll let you off for now) makes the world a better place. It's the reason people who believe in Christmas aren't allowed to wish a Merry Christmas to each other now. Personally I'm of the belief that the differences between cultures should be celebrated.

  16. Yes,people do have difference.Actually every person is an indiavidual.But there are similarities too,this fact needs to be ephasized,so that the differences shouldn't be used as an excuse to harass people.

  17. I have written it clearly in the introduction of my blog that every culture has some good aspects and some bad aspects.We just need to eradicate the inhuman aspects in cultures.I don't think that festivals are bad aspects of cultures.

  18. As long as people have differences (and I, for one am glad they do) there will always be someone using those differences as a way to make themselves feel better by making others feel worse.

  19. I read that book and also a book called Blackbird. Both books choked me up. I can't believe parents could do that to their own kids, or any adult for that matter.Blackbird, was about a girl who is only 4 years older than me, lived 20 minutes from where I used to live. Her mother died of cancer, when she was quite young. Her father remarried to another woman. He died later on, she and her brother grew up with this woman. She, the step-mother took the family's money and joined some religious cult. The girl was put into a home where she pretty much had to fend for herself. Her brother went with the step mother.For years the girl lived like that. Her father's family desperately searching for the two kids, finally finding them both.The Boy called It… my god. :awww:I agree that these books don't help the abused.I have heard stories even here that makes my stomach turn. I don't want to talk about the stories I have heard! The horrors! There is one woman who if I EVER meet her, I WILL punch her left right and center in the face. :furious:My daughter went over to my neighbor's house to play with their kids over the summer. There was other kids over. My daughter decided to go to the shop to get candy… and one of the other kid's decided to go with her and her kid sister of 3 went along, all holding each other's hands. My kid is allowed to go to that shop, it's just up from my house and I know the owners real well, but apparently it was closed. My daughter was told about the other shop, which is like about a mile away… so they went. No one knew a thing about it. They went and just as they were getting back to my neighbor's house, the mother of the other kids completely lost it and punched the older girl in the face. My daughter came home terrorized! My hubby was home, working. I wasn't. I still have no idea who the b*tch is. :furious: She apparently has forbidden her daughter to have any contact with my kid. My kid got a talking to about going off without telling anyone about it, whether she has permission to walk such a long distance at her age. The area she had to walk is one long road between forest land. It was like 3 weeks later, a girl was found murdered there. The guy was caught. This sort of thing has never happened here before… it really freaked us all out! 😦

  20. i don't have to read a book to know what a lot of children go through. i lived it, and i sure as hell am NOT going to write about it. if i ever tried to write about it, i wouldn't know where to begin.besides, why would someone want to drudge up the bad memories in their life? why not just leave the past in the past, and live for the here, now, and future?

Have Your Say:

