“I Swear By Almighty Me”

I almost choked to death when I read this story from way back in 2007. I’ve finally found it again so I thought I’d share it with you all.

The Hindu gods Ram and Hanuman have been summoned by a judge to help resolve a property dispute in Jharkhand, India.

The case concerns a 20-year long dispute over 1.4 acres of land that houses two Hindu temples. Local residents say the land belongs to Ram and Hanuman, while the temple priest Manmohan Pathak claims it belongs to him.

Having sent out summons by post to no avail, Judge Sunil Kumar Singh placed adverts in local newspapers, telling the gods “You failed to appear in court despite notices sent by a peon and later through registered post. You are hereby directed to appear before the court personally”.

Although they are presumably risking legal consequences, the deities are yet to respond to the summons. Nevertheless, local lawyer Bijan Rawani defended the decision to order Ram and Hanuman to appear in court: “Since the land has been donated to the gods, it is necessary to make them a party to the case”.

Am I the only one who thinks this was a great and hilarious idea?

25 thoughts on ““I Swear By Almighty Me”

  1. :doh: Don't you know Mik that all that belongs to god actually belongs to us priests?I welcome you to my temple and don't forget before leaving,to put some money or jewellery into the coinbox infront of the idol.And touch my feet as respect coz I am an aryan brahmin created from the mouth of god.You can buy a certificate from me whereby I declare you absolved of all your sins.Obey me or I will label you and your family the greatest sinners by karma in the world, deemed to be excommunicated for generations.

  2. Sounds like a good method to snatch some land donated to the Gods for a certain judges and his good friends relatives.

  3. Pineas,haven't you read my comment?That land could be used for a school,a college or a hospital.Then that can be called a real donated land to God.God needs land? The whole world is His/Hers.And that land won't go to the judge.

  4. Brothels that manufacture methamphetamine set up in a low cost housing 'ghetto' is common to most parts of the world. :left:.Corenza C is available over the counter here.

  5. Whorehouses and so called ghettos can be created in the name God as well,Pineas.Have you heard about the Devadasi System?There are many reasons that I am not a riligious person.Btw,I had only this much to say.You can continue your discussion.

  6. I have heard about the Devadasi-system and it's pendants in antique Babylon and elsewhere. Some would it call a nice accomodation provided by a religion.

Have Your Say:

