Sincerely Yours, The 80s

So Kitty triumphantly returned from her trip to Hamburg with a post about something very dear to my heart – the 80s. The decade where the boys wore more make-up than the girls… Okay, the first decade where that happened… Okay, one of the many decades that has happened… Anyway the 80s is a hell of an endurant decade, and has returned so many times, in music style, fashion and so many other ways. Why? Why is the decade that brought us neon legwarmers, ALF and Jem (look them up kids) one that people are determined to bring around again? The real question is, why not?

The 80s was a fun time. Sure, half the world was at war and threatening nuclear strikes and the other half of the world was scared to death about one of those nukes missing and hitting them, but the things we did in order to forget that nasty little fact were fun. These are the things people desperately try to bring back in a world where sardonic laughter is the most fun we tend to have. The feelings from the 80s are what the people who lived through that decade want to return, yet they never will. To have the good things feel as good as they did we must experience the bad again. And no-one wants to remember that. The 80s taught us all some valuable lessons, some of which we may not even count as lessons to most people as they were delivered via movies and television, which stayed with us for years. But people just want to bring back the clothes or the music?

Yeah, this post turned out a little whiny didn’t it? Time has moved on. The 80s is all the good things we remember and all the bad things we try to forget, yet we define it in our minds as a magical time where nothing ever went wrong because it’s easier for us to think that way and see the decade in the simplest terms and the most convenient definitions. So I’ll stop writing now but not before I leave you with something a little special. Something that I remember from the 80s, and a lesson well learned.

Dear Mr Vernon,
We accept the fact that we had to sacrifice an entire Saturday for whatever it was we did wrong, but we think you’re crazy trying to make us write an essay telling you who we think we are. You see us as you want to see us – in the simplest terms and the most convenient definitions. But we found that each one of us is a brain, and an athlete, and a basket case, a princess, and a criminal. Does that answer your question?

Sincerely yours,
The Breakfast Club

41 thoughts on “Sincerely Yours, The 80s

  1. Ahhh, the 80's… :dreams:I wonder if every generation has its own decade it remembers the same way we remember the 80's.One of the lessons I learned was not to stick my tongue out when it rained after April 26th 1986.Among other important things… :left: :p

  2. ๐Ÿ˜€ i immediately thought of The Breakfast Club with the first line.. ๐Ÿ˜€ one of them movies that is totally timeless :happy:

  3. Cool post! It feels good to inspire people! :yay:But that is a very very small picture you've got up there.Here's another one for me: :drools:And hey – I got neon coloured leg warmers. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Lies Pineas, all lies. :p.Couldn't find a bigger photo of that particular scene Zap. :awww: And it's that scene that's important to the post. I'm sure your paws look lovely in those leg warmers. :left:.Clint, it fit with the post. My favourite is Ferris Bueller's Day Off. :yes:.Their own decade eh? "Weren't the 40s great? Bombs, rationing, kids going to war. Ah, nostalgia." :left:.

  5. Well, obviously you haven't seen much punks in the 80s (I was none). Wavekids used makeup, punks (and me) not.

  6. 80s were the most beautiful part of my life ever. Maybe I think that way now because 90s were the worst so far – and I hope it will stay that way.When I think about 80s it feels like a dream, like a life that lived someone else… not me. It is almost 20 years since they were gone but I can still hear a sound from my old radio, listening hits in my favourite station. A sound of tram passing by my school. A freshness of early morning air when me and my brother get off a train in Croatia. Careless days and beautiful girls, even with legwarmers ๐Ÿ™‚ There is a huge mix of sounds and pictures in my head when I recall those days…Thank you for this post.

  7. The thanks belongs with the kitty in this one Darko. Just be careful what propaganda of hers you listen to. :up:

  8. Lol! I must admit I read this blog, checked back at your age and read this blog again :D! I was an 80s child but growing up then in my self absorbed little world, the 80s hold some very different memories for me. Did the men really wear more make-up than women back then? I remember the leg warmers and the HAIR hair spray and yes I remember Billy Idol and Top of the Pops and Legs n' Co. and I remember Spandau Ballet and Duran Duran and Depeche Mode and Soft Cell – it was a time when I'd discovered the British charts and became an encylopedia for it and I didn't even live in England. And then there was Jimmy Carter and the Ayatollah and my first love, and hmmm…. this is quite a trip down memory lane. And I'm counting numbers on my fingers and just how old were you when the 80s were happening? Oh and my husband has just nodded his head that the men did wear more make-up back then. I'm feel quite nostalgic now! Will have to go and play my Spandau Ballet cassettes again – does anyone still have audio tapes? I do! I'm suddenly feeling so ancient :SULK: They don't have a smiley here for sulk do they?:awww: ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. In the eighties, computers were for geeks, nerds and rich kids. I was a nerd. Of course, there was no money for a computer but dreams meant that anything was possible. *eyes glaze over, remembering the good times*. Being a nerd in the eighties was damned near suicide though. :insane:

  10. I was 3 through 31 during the 80s. You checked my clothes, music collection and films you'd think they were still going on. ๐Ÿ˜† So, what were Jimmy Carter, the Ayatollah and your first love getting up to together? :p.Not over here Aadil. The 80s were when the UK software industry took off. If you could program back then, you were a god. I still remember spending hours typing in games programs from magazines and Usborne books and days going through to see where I'd gone wrong that was stopping it working. :happy: Good times.

  11. We were typing in program listings as well, but we did that at home and in secret because 'out there' only rugby and cricket were allowed, anything that actually required thought was forbidden! :insane:

  12. Well, the girls didn't all look like Paris Hilton-street hookers in that days. But we did not have internet and mobile phones. So it was not the time for Mik Furie, I guess. I rode a Mofa .

  13. Try the chinese shop. :idea:.And while you're there, you can pick up a nifty 'ploystation' and an 'ePod' as well. :lol:.And don't forget the 'Rollux' watch. :p.

  14. ๐Ÿ˜† Me eyes are going! In my first reading of your response I thought you were suggesting my first love was some combo of JC & The Ayatollah – egads, shiver me timbers n' all! :nervous: But now that I think back on it, I'm wondering what they were up to together as well! Explains why that love affair didn't last!@Gdare – Yay! I feel no longer alone! Now I need to find someone who can tell me where in England I can find a decent CD player that has all the latest gadgets, gizmos and features and ALSO has a tape deck! ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Actually, chinese takeout restaurants are the only place in this country that still have tape decks. Wear a balaclava and wield a shotgun and they'll just be happy you don't shoot them.

  16. Lol!! Cool. Now where did I put that balaclava? Pineas, I will pick up a SumyEricson mobile phone for you while grab my tape deck! ๐Ÿ˜€

  17. Tape decks and that kind of stuff are here sold in discount stores downtown, normally owned by some immigrants, selling a whole range of food, carpets, tools, tea, pictures of the kaabah as well as of the virgin Mary and electronic devices from China.

  18. For the 80s, it was the music for me…nothing else. Odd as i didn't start listening to any music until 1991 :left: anyone remember The Shamen? :right:

  19. @gdare: Ooo! Thank you, but I'll have to decline. It would have been perfect but for the fact it won't fit in my handbag and clashes with the err nail varnish! ๐Ÿ˜€ I am sure my parents had one of those – Japanese make probably, Hitachi or Kawasaki or Oragami or something! :DCommodore VC20? Are we talking neolithic computers? I recall a Commodore 64 and I used to own a Sinclair ZX Spectrum (keyboard commands drove me nuts) but I recall my first ever computer classes I took were on a BBC Microcomputer! Ayeee those were the days!

  20. Datasettes, Sinclair ZX, Zenith, Commodore VC20, all that stuff I did not have the money for, girls who did not like me, school, civil service, first job, first rented room, first girl friend.

  21. In answer to the question you ask in your status, Crystal, it's possible but really really annoying for your readers as I soon found out when I did it.

  22. @Pineas – So when was this exam then? What was it for? What was the subject? Did the having the VC20 in the year before the exam help? How did you do? Just asking is all! ๐Ÿ˜€

  23. Yeah.. I suppose when I've visited a blog with music on autoplay, I've quickly either moved away or turned off the speakers ๐Ÿ˜€ Somehow I assumed it was better when it was MY taste in music. Lol! Thanks for letting me know. Now I'm going to have to think of something else to write in my 'status'! :banana:Why :banana: you ask? Coz I'm eating one ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. Well, that was the exam of the Senior High School for Economy in, um, 1984. Btw that was the book we had to write a test for the exam too, 1984 by Orwell. The VC20s, about 4, were for about 20 of us, about 1 hour a week, just to learn what could be. I was, well, in that days, I was young, you remember. I was the second best in that exam.

  25. :whistle: @ second best in the exam! A man with a mind always impresses me! 4 computers to 20 – Lol I remember one computer on the teacher's desk and a dead boring computer theory lecture for a class of 35+

  26. I remember my 'computer science' teacher telling me how it was 'impossible' to custom program the commodore 64's character set. ๐Ÿ˜†

Have Your Say:

