Cellphone Etiquette


10% Bad, 90% Good

You are practically a cell phone saint. You never annoy the people around you. Everyone should have phone manners as good as yours. And you sure wish they did!

Take This Test Yourself

Those of you who read this page for the mobile posts are in for a treat today, but it’s not this post. No, it’s actually a post I’ve been attempting to make myself, but got beaten to it.

Go for a journey through the past evolution of smartphones in America compared with the Rest Of The World, from the viewpoint of an ex Nokia employee who is still a big name in the business.

The linked article is pretty damn huge and it provides an interesting and fair look at why smartphones that sell well in the US are completely different to the ones that sell well everywhere else. Definitely required reading if you’re a serious mobile fan.

28 thoughts on “Cellphone Etiquette

  1. But do you get to the front of the line and make the entire bloody queue wait while you finish the conversation? 😡

  2. Oh, in case anyone's wondering about my bad manners, I'll always snap a photo of someone who looks weird. :whistle:

  3. I am actually pretty considerate – for instance that question about using my phone while I stand in line – yes, I do that, all the time. But I switch the sound off so people don't hear every text I receive. :left:

  4. Damn cool book. :p.It never occured to me that Americans still believe that 50's idea that only bald men in grey suits use phones. :insane:.I almost picture every american looking very much like a stepford family. :p.

  5. Their view is warped in that way, but Blackberrys and the iPhone of all things got them using their phones for more than just voice for the first time in years. It's interesting that they've gone such a roundabout route and are slowly coming around to the same point of view as the rest of the world.

  6. Originally posted by Mik:

    But do you get to the front of the line and make the entire bloody queue wait while you finish the conversation? 😡

    I must say that it's very seldom I actually talk in my mobile phone. I mostly use it to send text messages. And I do that a lot when I am in a queue. Queueing is so boring. :yawn:

  7. Well, no freaking wonder I couldn't find a Nokia smartphone in the mobile stores around here. :doh: That article is quite interesting to say the least. :yes: Now hopefully with the rise of the Blackberry and iPhone, the US will start offering what other mobile companies in the rest of the world offer. 🙂

  8. See why I don't have a cell phone Mik. It's confusing and frustrating. Don't know what to buy and the contracts here are expensive.

  9. It's a long road back, although you guys in the US do have the benefit of having had the exploring already done by the rest of the world. Unfortunately you've also been spending all your funds paving that road you took in the opposite direction and breaking down signposts so no-one knows there is any other direction.The networks have been screwing you guys for years now, making you think that they're giving you solid gold when they're actually taking most things of value out, leaving you with a golden shell as I'm in the mood to take metaphors way beyond their natural conclusions. The phones you buy from the networks have on average 50-60% less features than the original models as designed by the manufacturers. Over here we usually find about 10% taken out of the phone by the network at most, and I find even that to be outrageous so I buy my phones SIM-free direct from the manufacturer.The worst part for US phone users is that they don't know this. These things are carefully covered up by the networks, while the rest of the industry is aware of the situation over there. I've even had someone from the US tell me that I don't like the iPhone because I can't afford one, simply because they couldn't understand that there are better phones on the market. When I pointed out that Symbian phones are so much better he didn't know what I was talking about, despite the fact he works in a phone shop.

  10. Carol, I've been preparing a post recently that will answer that in a way, and I'll be posting it once I've had some sleep. Be warned it's a bit of a monster though and is only the first part in a series of essays along those lines that I have planned.The short answer is that everything still has a few things to learn from everything else at this particular moment in time, but every manufacturer has one very important lesson to learn. At the moment Symbian is the best smartphone operating system out there and, having seen some of what they have planned for the future, I believe they'll stay the best by innovation and learning from their own mistakes and competitor's triumphs.

  11. Ok Mik, I don't even know what SIM means, I think you told me before but I can't remember. sighs. I am coming from not knowing anything about cell phones and from what I've been learning from here (meaning my town) they are expensive. Just so confusing.

  12. A SIM card is a little identifying chip that you put inside your phone to say "this is my phone number and this is the network and price plan I'm on". In Europe we can get our phones unlocked from the network easily, or buy them SIM free so we can use them with any network around the world. A prepay SIM card can be bought here for any of the networks for as little as 60 american cents, meaning we can easily swap if one doesn't treat us right.

Have Your Say:

