Samsung i8910 HD Hard Reset

I've been getting a load of visits recently from people searching how to perform a hard reset on the Samsung i8910 Omnia HD so I thought I'd throw together a quick guide on how to do exactly that.

  • Open the telephone dialler by pressing the software button on the bottom left of the front screen.
  • Type *#7370#
  • You'll be asked if you want to restore all of the original settings and warned that the phone will restart. Choose yes.
  • Now you'll be asked to enter the lock code. Enter 00000000 as the code. That's eight zeros.
  • Click the OK button and the phone will reset. This takes some time so be patient.

Occasionally you'll find yourself in a situation where you can't use the screen and therefore can't use this process to reformat a phone. In that case you'll need to do the following.

  • Pull the battery to make sure it's powered off correctly then replace it.
  • Hold down the green call button and the middle button at the same time.
  • With those two buttons held down, press the red power on button.
  • The phone should give you the option to format now and you can press the green key to accept it.

Be aware that the phone memory and the hard drive will all be wiped clean so back up anything you need to keep either to a PC or to a memory card. Don't forget to remove the memory card before the reset as some memory cards may also be occasionally wiped in this process.

80 thoughts on “Samsung i8910 HD Hard Reset

  1. Took me hours to find out the security code when I did it, plus I've had over three hundred visits looking for details of a hard reset on this phone since I mentioned it in passing during another post. 😆

  2. Are you sure it will reset the memory card as well? I spoke to someone online who had done a hard reset and said that the data on memory card was intact. But thats with a Nokia N73. Any clarification will be much appreciated.

  3. Nokia's hard resets don't usually touch the mass memory (hard drive or memory card) which was why I was surprised that I lost 5GB of data when I performed this hard reset, and why I mentioned it in this post.I don't know if this will affect the actual memory card as well as the hard drive but I always recommend removing the memory card anyway as it's so easy for a process like that to corrupt the data.

  4. When I hard reset it wipes everything.. Samsung's codes though just wipe some stuff I've seen eg. When you reset the camera then all pics are deleted but other things are left untouched.

  5. Clem writes:You can do a hard reset by pressing the Camera button and without releasing press the On button. You will be prompted if you want to do a hard reset – press the Answer (green) hard button and do a hard reset.

  6. steve writes:This is a load of nonsense. I have installed about a dozen different firmwares on my i8910 in the last couple of months. After installing a new firmware I do a hard reset & it has not touched anything on the memory card, only on the mass memory.

  7. I don't know if this will affect the actual memory card as well as the hard drive but I always recommend removing the memory card anyway as it's so easy for a process like that to corrupt the data.

  8. Anonymous writes:my touch screen isn't working. can i reset without having to press it. i was hoping reset may get it working again. brand new out of box. worked for 5 min then nothing.

  9. Check you haven't locked it or it isn't set to auto-lock. There's a button on the right towards the top. Press and hold that to lock and unlock.

  10. Anonymous writes:nah… its not locked. method above doesn't work. anyone know method to hard Reset without using screen?

  11. You can't unless you flash it with new software, a problem I'm facing right now. Sorry. If you find another method be sure to let me know. :up:

  12. johnniedee writes:if you cant use your screen hold the call button and the middle button down then press power on and it will prompt you to format, press gree and hey presto….. formattedyoure welcome 🙂

  13. I read that at the time, except the wording on the official site said to hold the green, red and middle at the same time, which obviously didn't work. I've actually read it your way a few times but never bothered to try it out until now. Guess you have a trustworthy avatar eh? 😉 Nicely done JD.

  14. I normally know this stuff, but got given slightly misleading info to start with. The pisser is that if anyone had asked me for help I'd probably have found this out for myself. 😆

  15. Anonymous writes:if you cant use your screen hold the call button and the middle button down then press power on and it will prompt you to format, press gree and hey presto….. formatted It worked for me , thanks a ton man

  16. Anonymous writes:iv done the hard reset using the three buttons but it comes up in a different language and i can't find te uk on the list, how do i know which one it is,help please thanx

  17. Anonymous writes:i did a hard reset with the mem card in and it never erased nething off memory card, does ne 1 know how delete in bulk and unlock?

  18. If you can't even turn it on, it's time to go back to the shop. They can at least check it's charging and see if the battery or charger are a problem.

  19. Does this reset formats the phone completely even the pre-installed apps (Road sync-Communities-Asphalt 4 HD..)

  20. It is, methinks..Mik.. You have a mini browser that'll recognise chinese lettering? Tried Bolt and Skyfire doesn't open as it doesn't recognise my country or something. Hmmm.. Inbuilt browser doesn't support..Check out kanjizone.com to see what I mean.Just remembered UCWEB and Teashark but have to download those to check quick..Ideas?

  21. At opera:config, turn on the bitmap fonts at the bottom. Then hurl it onto desktop view and it should work. If not let me know and I'll see what I can do, increasingly old wolf. :up:

  22. I miss the "You'll see" days, when I knew I'd beat it. It's like the opening part of Aliens when the marines are all cool. Then the wrinkles and grey hairs start "coming outta the goddamn walls" and life is over. :awww:

  23. Dadand3boys writes:I updated my i8910 using Samsung PC studio Software Updater and a data cable. It complete the Update 100%, took almost an hour, then froze the phone. The screen now shows 3 icons – phone… Exclamation triangle…small computer. Nothing works to 'unfreeze' this error image and restart. Have searched dozens of blogs, any ideas????

  24. Wow, sounds like it's doubled up on the firmware image. Hmmm, your best bet is to get in touch with Samsung stating the problem and asking for help or a replacement.One thing you may want to try first is removing the memory card if you have one in. I don't know why but they seem to cause a problem after non-Nokia firmware updates.

  25. Dadand3boys writes:Thanks for your reply. It is a crazy problem – Samsung phone, Samsung cable, Samsung software, Samsung update then frozen! Tried removing memory card, sim card, changing cable, soft reboot, hard reboot, battery in and out – no difference.I think like you it's a trip to a Samsung dealer and $$$

  26. Anonymous writes:So here is the conclusion. Contacted Samsung Australia Support, and was told that you cannot update software on their mobile phones in Australia -it has to be taken to a Samsung repairer and you pay for them to update software!! They could not explain why their phone came with Samsung PC Studio 7, with an update function, that is not meant to be used. Ridiculous!! So $44 later their dealer pockets the money and resets the phone. Never heard of such nonsense, they WILL lose their market with such short-sighted marketing.

  27. The Samsung PC Studio is a shocking piece of software, and never seems to admit new firmware exists. To update the firmware on a Samsung Jet I ended up getting firmware from The Dark Forest Group and following a walkthrough.

  28. rob writes:Hi I bought a phone of someone on ebay unlocked etc. it arrived and i turned it on only to find out there was a phone lock on it. The person cannot be contacted and i dont want to take it into a store. Is there anyway of getting through the phone lock? I've tried eight zero's, four zero's and 1234 etc. Any help would be greatly appreciatedthanks

  29. This is why you never buy from eBay. There are ways to sort it out but I'm too ill right now to even think of them. Google might help, but it's possible you've bought a stolen phone that can't be fixed.

  30. Anonymous writes:hi mik, just a small snag, ive copyed content to my pc, but when i restored it to my i8910 HD it said it was done but with errors, so i have been trying to do a factory reset, but i cant even open up the telephone dialler, the phone has a serious software problem with icons flashing all over the screen, the touch screen works, but the buttons themselves dont work at all. Any ideas how to get around this to do a factory reset, are there any holes you can push a button. Trouble is, the phone wont connect to the pc now, so i can t even do another write over.thanksjames

  31. Hello James, you came to the right place because I had the exact same problem after I posted this and could not figure it out, then someone in these comments gave me some advice which made me realise I'd been hitting the wrong combination of buttons.Pull the battery to make sure it's powered off correctly then replace it.Hold down the green call button and the middle button at the same time.With those two buttons held down, press the red power on button.The phone should give you the option to format now and you can press the green key to accept it.That should work in most cases. If it doesn't then you're going to have to take it back to the manufacturer, I'm afraid. Rob, if you're still out there this should work for you too.Hmmm, I'm going to add those instructions to the main post as they're so handy.

  32. Anonymous writes:will the hard reset remove the security codes. for example its asking me for a security code to get into my messages. will i still have to use a code to get into my messages after the hard reset

Have Your Say:

