The Crazy

Sometimes, just sometimes, something happens that makes you take a good long look at yourself and the bizarre little things that youve begun to prioritise. For example, the other day I was watching Scrubs (regular readers will remember that a very small windfall allowed us to buy the complete series 1-7 boxset) when the disc ended and it was Kims turn to change to the next one. She slid the series out of the big box, changed the disc over and put the series back into the box… facing backwards. I calmly walked over there and changed it to face forwards again when I suddenly realised that something in my life had turned from an odd little quirk into a problem.

Now, I know thats an odd thing to call the love you have for the woman you want to spend your life with, but anyone sane would have taken a flying leap over the table, tackled her, wrestled her to the ground and put the series in with the cover facing the front instead of waiting until shed already put it in the wrong way then gently correcting her with a three hour lecture about how this could potentially lead to the apocalypse. Why are you all looking at me like that? These things are important to me, okay? I guess it started when I first rented Clue on video and the last person to rent it hadnt rewound the tape meaning I watched half of the ending before I managed to stop the film and rewind it. Ever since then Ive had a mild obsession with common courtesy especially when it comes to media. I face my DVDs in the box so that theyre precisely the right way up and make sure that theyre in the easiest order for watching (special feature discs all go on the middle inlay allowing you to get the movies out more easily and any overlapping discs are put in chronological order with the first ones on top). Whenever were fed up of something and need a little extra cash we trade in our DVDs and theyre in such perfect condition that the guy who runs the second-hand media shop looked amazed the first few times, and now his pupils turn into little hearts whenever we walk through the door.

See, it isn’t really a problem if it brings joy to someone elses life and its just media. Sure, I may pull things to the front of the shelf at the supermarket and face them nicely, but I only do that if its something Im buying anyway and I like to think that it makes life just that tiny bit easier for the next person with the same taste as me. Who knows, maybe theyll pass it on in their own way. Yeah, thats why I do that but it doesnt really apply to the media does it? I guess I just like to have a place for everything and everything in its place. Its a little old-fashioned (and I guess its the reason I spend more time on the layout of my posts than I do actually writing them) but its just the way I am. Yeah, my baby is sometimes a problem that stands between me saving the world with forward facing DVDs but I love her and Im willing to not be the hero I should be if it means spending more time gazing into her eyes. So dont judge me for this lapse in my priorities because Im in love and sometimes, just sometimes, love is crazy enough to make you need to hide the crazy, even though you never have to.

50 thoughts on “The Crazy

  1. True, Bob was a good guy and he shouldn't have been an apprentice to a blind carpenter… But saving the world?I was moving it off the table while we were expecting deliveries. Besides, I faced it backwards so that we'd be able to see which season we were on by the synopsis on the back. I'm a hero. :happy:.You're in awe of my superheroism aren't you, Clint. 😎

  2. "special feature discs all go on the middle inlay allowing you to get the movies out more easily and any overlapping discs are put in chronological order with the first ones on top"Control freak πŸ˜›

  3. I try to remember if I got some not-self-burned dvds… yes, I got! O-Ban Star Racer (first two episodes) and Buffy the Vampire Slayer (same).

  4. For a bonus point, do you also rotate all the DVDs in the box so the titles are in line with each other and on the right angle to read when the box is opened? :left:And is there alphabetizing involved? :sherlock:

  5. Originally posted by Mik:

    Sure, I may pull things to the front of the shelf at the supermarket and face them nicely

    I have a friend just like you. She used to work in a record store, and every time we're in a supermarket and go to look at which CDs they've got, it takes her less than two minutes to arrange all their CDs into alphabetical order! :eyes: πŸ˜€

  6. Mart, that

    so that they're precisely the right way up

    is a direct reference to rotating. I'm considering getting a set square to make it more precise though.It's old habit kitten. Last time I was in a pub I was just picking up a friend for dinner and before we left we'd started glass collecting, cleaning tables and emptying ashtrays. Managed to get two work t-shirts out of it when the manager caught us though. He was being sarcastic but we took them.Moe, if you ever do blue collar (AKA crap) work you'll find you do whatever it takes to get through it. The usual is to convince yourself that the place can't operate without you and that you take pride in it and develop these minor mental problems and wake up in strange (but beautifully organised) places with blood on your hands and no memory of the events that led you there. It's the best way to work. :happy:

  7. For everything you put yourself through you mean. It was your choice to lecture Kimmie for 3 hours when you could of simply of just done it and let that be the end. Right?

  8. Okay, I just replied to David's comment and now I can't see it anywhere. Is he trying to prove his point about medication or did I somehow delete it by accident? :sherlock:

  9. But if I take medication I'll lose my spark here and only make normal posts.Without a lecture, people don't learn. You'd think women would be the first to agree with that principle as they seem to be born saying it.

  10. Moe, if you ever do blue collar (AKA crap) work you'll find you do whatever it takes to get through it. The usual is to convince yourself that the place can't operate without you and that you take pride in it and develop these minor mental problems and wake up in strange (but beautifully organised) places with blood on your hands and no memory of the events that led you there.That remembers me to the day I started to build up a database for all customer compliants. Works fine. And: they cannot operate here without me. πŸ˜‰

  11. Originally posted by Mik:

    One Sheet Leaver!

    πŸ˜† That's hilarious. And at least one sheet is better than nothing. πŸ˜€

  12. Rosie, if we rent DVDs it always looks like the last person to have it used it as a coaster on a mug made of sandpaper before using it as an ashtray and finishing off by smoothing off a rock with it. It gets worse if it's not new out as well.

  13. I don't see anything wrong with treating media nicely. Not that I have mine in any particular order (although I think the DVD's are sort of sorted by genre. Maybe.), I always put the CD/DVD back in its case with the print the right way up :up:.:sst: And let's not get started on which way the toilet paper should hang! :insane:

  14. You do know how much meat I eat and how many gravy dinners I have, don't you? One sheet is nothing. :p.Speak English, that man. Oh, sorry about the mess on your page by the way. I just couldn't resist stating the obvious. :devil:

Have Your Say:

