Break From The Normal

I’m angry and I’m getting angrier. Something has happened to our local cell tower meaning that after swapping networks we now have a worse signal than we had on the old network. When it works it’s much better but for now it’s all over the place and a pain. Of course whenever I get on here people are mourning Esther by filling her page with hearts to each other and filling my watchlist with photos of someone I’m mourning too so yeah that’s just lovely and really puts me in the mood for this place. Seems like they’re moving through the posts too as every time I unsubscribe to one another pops up. It’s not the only thing that’s getting to me online, but it is the main thing that’s been building up and one of the reasons I blew my top on a forum recently and had a go at a guy trying to be friendly and make a joke.

The anger is affecting my writing too. Well I say anger but it’s more like can’t be bothered. My last two or three posts haven’t exactly been indicative of my own particular style. In fact they’re the sort of thing you could find on pretty much any news website. I’m a better writer than that, even if I don’t pull out my pen that often. I think I need to concentrate on that for a bit, putting together larger posts but less often, at least for a while. Writing is so calming and harmonic for me – the flow of words on a given subject coming to my fingertips almost rhythmically like a half remembered song that you start to sing.

And if that cliched description isn’t enough to show you how badly I need to concentrate on writing then nothing will. I think I’m going to write one or two really big posts per week and put more effort into them. That way I should be able to get back into things easily enough. Once I’ve got that back I’ll start doing my dailys as well. So bear with me while I reboot this page into something worth reading.

75 thoughts on “Break From The Normal

  1. *kicks Mik a little*Ahem..It really is readworthy always but putting more into something is always a good idea.I've been struggling with something similar where I find my blog is boring me as I just do the same old shit over and over without it being something to follow really. Only if your need a daily laugh sure but after all this while.. Eh..

  2. I still think your blog is definitely readworthy, but if you're not content with your posts, and other online bugging things, it might be a good idea to step back and breath deep a couple of times.Just not for too long, you know!*hands Mik a mask* Here… breath into this. It'll help, I promise :).

  3. *talks in sleep*Everyone needs a daily laugh, but your obligation isn't to make people laugh, rather to create something that means something to you.

  4. *prepares enormous mug of soothing coffee**brings in a bucket of iPhones and a big hammer* :whistle: I'm not a fan of public mourning – it's unseemly, un-British. Well, it was until Diana died :irked: Darn tabloids…

  5. I enjoy your blog, and I've no online loyalty to you, if you know what I mean. You put a lot into this place, and it shows. And I'm sick of the constant in-your-face reminders as well.

  6. "So bear with me while I reboot this page into something worth reading."always one of the best posts on Opera,but you knew that already.Taking a break for a month from posting did allow me to have more time for many other things that I had no time for .I will most definitely miss your daily entries.Please come back on a daily basis as soon as you are able to do so ,and Mik thank you for all the amazing entries ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. :sing: Making your way in the world todayTakes everything you've got;Taking a break from all your worriesSure would help a lot.Wouldn't you like to get away?All those night when you've got no lights,The check is in the mail;And your little angelHung the cat up by it's tail;And your third fiance didn't show;Sometimes you want to goWhere everybody knows your name,And they're always glad you came;You want to be where you can see,Our troubles are all the same;You want to be where everybody knows your name.Roll out of bed, Mr. Coffee's dead; The morning's looking bright;And your shrink ran off to Europe,And didn't even write;And your husband wants to be a girl;Be glad there's one place in the worldWhere everybody knows your name,And they're always glad you came;You want to go where people know,People are all the same;You want to go where everybody knows your name.Where everybody knows your name,And they're always glad you came;Where everybody knows your name,And they're always glad you came;You want to go where people know,People are all the same;You want to go where everybody knows your name. :sing:

  8. @Kimmie : i should be here more often soon ๐Ÿ™‚ Expect stories and some friends-only stuff later this month ๐Ÿ˜€ @Mik : talking to yourself? :p

  9. Mik, I'm sorry you are so angry. We know you are mourning too. Some people mourn differently then others, that doesn't mean one way is to anger others. Sorry that it has angered you and others. It helps Ginny a lot to read and feel the love.I'm glad she has joined My Opera. I hope you do what you said you were going to do about posting fun things to help us through the mourning. Take care.

  10. This year I've written some great essays on the future evolution of mobile phone operating systems [1], [2], [3] that I think are interesting even to those that aren't into these sort of things. However more recently I've not been so energetic in my posts. It's not that I'm experiencing writers block or that I haven't been inspired, more like I can't be bothered to write the posts at all. The subject matter interests me but I just write it up on autopilot so to speak, almost following a formula (describe situation for one or two paragraphs, add big reveal in the next paragraph, finish by wondering about the part of the situation that interested me, add an image to tie it all up and we're done). I've literally spent more time thinking up post titles than writing the posts.

  11. What network are you on now? Just to show some interest. ;)I wrote yesterday a manual about pairing my Motorola with a bluetooth-dongle. Could not find one at the web…

  12. I think it's good to take a step back once in a while and look at things from another perspective. You've got a lot of loyal readers. That must mean that people like your style. So yeah – don't let your break be too long. :up:

  13. *wakes up with a ravening wolf over him and a kitty sneaking up, holding a sai in her mouth*Lot of comments. :eyes: I decided against taking a break, instead concentrating on quality posts over quantity, but I probably wont be commenting much. I'd update my status to reflect that if I could. :irked: Basically I'll be working on at least one big post every week and hopefully getting my groove back soon.Our network is 3 and we've gone from full signal to one or two bars if we're lucky recently. I think the cell has been damaged or something.Ying may think she enjoys reading peoples comments on Esther's page but it's just delaying her getting closure, providing something that keeps Esther alive somewhere if only in others comments about her. Eventually people will stop and it'll be like losing her all over again. So yes, it makes me angry.Clint, I've seen your writing before and it's good. Your actual real life and news posts are far more interesting to me than the jokes or image posts. I enjoy the jokes but stay for the more serious stuff.

  14. Sorry to hear about your friend. I like your blog (which I have now subscribed to through Google Reader).You're probably about as British as I am Swedish.

  15. Originally posted by rose-marie:

    *giggles… dongle hehehe*

    ๐Ÿ™„ You'll be giggling at the word 'Rudd' next … :whistle:

  16. Originally posted by Furie:

    David? Have you been taking your meds?

    Yep. Going to the doctor today to get prescriptions for more, too. :p ๐Ÿ˜‰ :lol:You were talking about having a break. It just reminded me of the song from 'Cheers', somehow. :doh: ๐Ÿ˜†

  17. To be honest, dude – yours is one of the few *honest* and interesting blogs that I know – I don't care if that sounds sycophantic – it's not meant to be like that – I like your style and your words are always worth reading. I don't comment *that* much, and sometimes don't get what you're on about (historically, if you know what I mean)…but, well…yeah – honest is the word, and I appreciate it, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Whatever wuss. Man-up. What the fuck do you have to care what other's think? Do what is right for you and no explantion is necessary.Furie's Note – I've unwhispered the other part of this comment so this doesn't get out of hand.

  19. I think he meant in the biblical sense….an ass…but, you know..wouldn't want to put words in Gavin's mouth…:)(no offence intended if I got the wrong end of the stick there)

  20. ๐Ÿ˜† Cool ๐Ÿ˜† Not sorry – I like Bud, and Mik – but gotta stand up when it looks like a mean, or nasty is happening. I know bud likes a triple vodka, so….:cheers:

  21. You guys may wish to reread that comment. There was more to it than meets the eye and I've opened that up for you to see. :up:

  22. Assholes. Get a life. Me and Mik get along just fine. We both speak our mind and don't always agree but we always keep the lines of communication open and think before we speak.

  23. Full moon? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ . I think a lot of us are just a little touchy lately – which means we're all pissing each other off ๐Ÿ˜†

  24. Good to hear. You're right. We shouldn't step in to defend our friend if we think someone's having a go at him. Particularly people who call us assholes for doing so. So you can just 'think before you speak' about that while you fuck off. Wanker.On a related note, what the fuck is it with some folks around here lately? People seems to be all pissed off. I've got no idea where to step in case I tread on someone's toes 'cause nobody tells me what's happening. :irked:

  25. Bud, If I'd said something to this effect to mask a whisper on Marike's blog when she was upset you'd have been just as pissed. David, fuck knows. It's like people are going all screwy for halloween. No. I think recent events have a lot to do with the high tension.

Have Your Say:

