A Shadow Over Portsmouth

Robert Folley, confused about an announcement of a new playground being built in a park, had contacted the mayor’s office asking for a document to help him clarify before posting on his blog about it. A reasonable request, backed up by stating which law he is requesting it under. What follows is a transcript of an e-mail sent to the blogger by the Mayor of Portsmouth Ohio, Jim Kalb.

Per your public records request: You are correct in stating that at the meeting in the park the fact was “acknowledged that such a written agreement existed.” What I don’t understand is why you feel that a confirmation of this fact would necessitate a publication or distribution of the mentioned document. As you requested, a copy of the document has been prepared for you to pick up at my office. Our regular office hours are 8:00AM to 4:00PM, Monday through Friday. If there is anything else that I can do for you, which is required by law, don’t hesitate to call my office.

Now that’s all right. A little odd towards the end but basically the usual “You can have this stuff you’re legally entitled to but I’m not happy about it” letter (I’ve had a few in my time). Unfortunately the e-mail continues.

If it isn’t required by law then don’t bother asking because I think that you’re a worthless piece of shit and I wouldn’t piss on you if you were on fire (my opinion). You’re a poor, lonely, jealous, old man with aspirations of becoming a writer. You write your lies and uneducated opinions on people and issues from behind the safety of your slobber stained keyboard with the hope that somebody will read them that doesn’t know you and believe that you’re more than the pitiful, broke-down, lizard-looking thing that you are, in my opinion. Get a life old man. On second thought, don’t bother…………….

Gotta admit, he’s got a way with words eh? That “lizard-looking thing” comment even inspired the title for this post (cyber-cookie to anyone who gets the reference). Maybe the official Mayor’s Office letterhead helps them seem more eloquent? You can find the entire e-mail here along with the e-mail that provoked it and a few more details on the situation. I wont go into them here because I don’t care. Does that sound harsh? I don’t see why it should. After all, I don’t know either of the men involved.

What I do care about is image. Hell, you’ve seen me spend six months getting a decent theme for this page so I guess you know that already. You also probably know that my career choice had me managing a nightclub for a time, and that’s relevant to this subject. You see, one of the rules I had in place for staff was that they not wear their uniforms anywhere except in the club, and it’s a rule I had to follow throughout my entire hospitality career. When you wear the uniform, you’re representing the club and any action on your part might reflect badly on the place. I don’t give a damn if you publically pick your nose and eat it, but when you’re advertising my club and doing that you’re reflecting badly on me. It strikes me that if every bartender worked for, with or above is subject to that rule then surely people in more public jobs should be too, like government officials perhaps?

By taking the role of Mayor, this man represents the government and the city in all his actions, and that e-mail doesn’t fit in with that image. But Jim Kalb is no ordinary politician and surprisingly this e-mail incident is all a part of the image he’s been putting out for a while now. During my cursory research into this story I came across a few details of his life (posted by a Portsmouth blogger in 2007) including multiple arrests when he was younger for assault. You see Jim was a member of the Jackson Street Gang, a racist gang that all lived on Jackson Street in Portsmouth and who swore an oath that they would do everything in their power to destroy the lives of non-white people in their area. You can read more on that here if you wish.

So yeah, this guy is a racist bully who still practices when he thinks he can get away with it. Anyone that’s gonna start chanting “Four more years!” for him at any point must be bloody mad.
🙄

45 thoughts on “A Shadow Over Portsmouth

  1. This post poves my point about politicians. I mean, probably there are some decent people among them, but in minority, without any possibility to change things.Back to the topic, if he reacts like that in a case of something so beningn as the park playground is, imagine what his reaction would be if his ass is on stake :left:

  2. You are stealing your cat's cookies? My best friend won't like you! He would fight with a dog for his food. Indeed he has done this with a Samjode-dog.

  3. Wow! And there's still more to that e-mail! :eyes:Anybody else finding the mayor's address funny (portsmouthmayor@yahoo.com)? :left:

  4. I know the reference – H.P. Lovecraft, The Shadow Over Innsmouth 😀 I still want a cookie :awww: he only half-got the reference :p

  5. haha no, I switched back. I'm disappointed in you… you said that the training penis was only a small one, so howcome yours aren't any bigger? 😀

  6. Yeah you, and then the mean kitty tried to bury you alive. Then she gave me my body back, and announced the penis was too small, conveniently forgetting I'm having to grow it back after the sex change she gave me without my permission. And then Dennis chimed in with his secret fantasies. And then Clint realised that swapping mortal enemies bodies wasn't a good idea. And here we are. :up:.Tils, everything on your body was more than big enough. :p

  7. I was going to make a joke about someone's 'chubby buddy', but now I can't recall the punchline. :confused:.Does anyone here speak Irish? :whistle:.

Have Your Say:

