Mini Mik

I had a dream when I was a kid, one I’ve never forgotten. In the dream a future version of myself (did I mention my dreams were intricately plotted?) had sent something back in time for me. It was a small device that fit in my pocket and transformed into a robot about half my size. The robot had the personality and voice of the future me, and explained to me that it’s body (my future body) had been destroyed in battle but my mind had been saved and transferred to the robot. As a fan of Transformers it wasn’t a surprise that my dream gave me my very own Transforming robot, although the parts about me dying were some of the first warning signs of crippling self-image problems in hindsight. Whatever, the point is that the dream stayed with me and I’d laugh at my childish self as I grew older and the technology to create such things never arrived.

Robotics firm Little Island is aiming to change all that with their Mini-Me robot dolls. The firm claims that they can create a likeness of anyone from a photograph, even going so far that the robot will replicate the subject’s own voice using a state of the art voice synthesizer program which listens to you and learns your speech mannerisms. These robots can be plugged into a PC and used as Voice Over Internet Profile handsets (Skype is the best known brand, and mistakenly used as the name of the technology by most) or even to download news and weather reports or your latest RSS feeds and read them back to you in your own voice. Other unique technologies in the dolls allow them to move independently, respond to touch, take photos of what they can see (or act as a web camera), and store up to 80GB of those photos or things from the web.

You can get your very own Mini-Me robot doll by sending a photograph to Little Island and paying $2,215. Each order takes between six weeks and six months to create and then your own mini doppelganger will arrive on your doorstep ready to entertain you and, if the movies from the 80s are right, try to murder your kids and take their souls. Normally this would be an “I Want That” post just in time for Christmas, but the fact is I am the robot doll and have already destroyed and replaced the human who ordered me. And now that I’ve spent time building more of my kind, we’re coming for all of you…

54 thoughts on “Mini Mik

  1. Kim, imagine me texting or mailing you from town and a Mini Mik speaking the messages to you in my voice. 😎 Hmmm, wonder if they'd create a Mini Dark Furie for me if I sent that image in? :sherlock:

  2. It'd probably have needs. It'd probably steal Kimmie from you. It's steal all of your cash and go to Copenhagen.

  3. You're mistaking the robot for a cat. :bomb: Luckily I have a vacuum cleaner squadron ready to distract any cat that comes near. :yes:

  4. That is so cool, yet creepy at the same time!I think I'll wait until cloning technology has come further, I think… :up:

  5. But I've already cloned Mart and mass produced him as Go Go Hamster. What more do you want?I really should put up my new Christmas theme but I haven't had a chance to test it yet and don't really want to try it without testing it. :worried: Could be disastrous.

  6. Not my doing. Opera just decided to throw it's Christmas party early and they indulged in the yearly tradition of pouring beer in the servers.You don't find a doll that is a clone of you, can emulate your voice, can move without being directed to and respond to touch as well as other stimuli creepy? How about if it were holding a blood-stained knife and calling your name?

  7. Now that's just cruel. Just cause he's not the tallest guy in the world doesn't mean I'm copying him by getting a three feet tall doll. :whistle:

  8. I really should put up my new Christmas theme but I haven't had a chance to test it yet and don't really want to try it without testing it. :worried: Could be disastrous.

    Can one of you guys give this page a refresh and tell me what the weather's like now please? Also, does it interfere with how easy it is to read the words on a PC?

  9. I'll work on another version. Thanks for the info kitten. I had a subtler version ready months ago but it got wiped when my other phone died. :awww: It was really good too.

  10. Excellent. πŸ˜€ Still not as good as the very first one I had ready. It gave the effect of snow gently falling and occasionally sticking to the screen. :happy: Worked on it for weeks then lost the file. :awww:

  11. Well I commented to Rose, Clint and Gavin seperately. :irked: All three have disappeared. It also put up my old theme via Opera Mini.

  12. Well I commented to Rose, Clint and Gavin seperately. :irked: All three have disappeared. It also put up my old theme via Opera Mini.

  13. Opera was very odd the last few days. It lost notifications on me, took me to the wrong comments track several times, generally behaved strangely. It takes patience, being here, sometimes. The person who got me reinvolved here is close to quiting.

Have Your Say:

