Boyfriend Wanted

On March 8th, in celebration of Women's Day, the University of Electronic Science and Technology in Chengdu, China gave every female student a piece of paper. The students were told to write down any wish they had and post it on a special wishing wall. Freshman student Zhang Mengqian, perhaps misunderstanding the meaning of the day, wrote the following as her wish:

My name is Zhang Mengqian, a grade one student, and I think I am attractive, but strangely I can't find a boyfriend. However I believe in destiny. If you have the same wish, please come under my dormitory building and shout my name between 12:30 and 12:50 on March 11th, and I will observe you secretly up in the building. If you're my type, I'll come down to meet you.

Two things should be made clear before you find out the result of Zhang's message. Firstly, China has a population of around one billion people. Secondly, the college has twenty five male students to every female. Yeah, that's how Zhang's wish ended with over two thousand male students showing up at the same time.

The dull roar of them all shouting her name was enough to terrify the poor girl so much that she unsurprisingly didn't come down to meet any of them up close, but the resulting ego boost was powerful enough to draw this tale to my attention.

17 thoughts on “Boyfriend Wanted

  1. I would have writen girlfriend wanted, but no gfbf relationship is accepted in the small town where I live. Writing "wife wanted" would have been more appropriate here. šŸ˜€

  2. She should have leaned out and yelled, "All of you … fight to the death over me! Winner gets to be my boyfriend!"Part-way towards solving overpopulation … :whistle: šŸ˜‰

  3. No, no, he missed out the stage where they're all supposed to bring expensive gifts first :rolleyes:The fight to the death (all proceeds going to the wedding and a nice house) is later on.

  4. What a story!!! šŸ˜† šŸ˜† I bet she became celebrity in her university :queen:Originally posted by Furie:

    Have you seen a photo of the girl,

    :insane:

  5. Hahahaha, that's hilarious! It would have been so funny to watch the expression on her face when she looked out the window! šŸ˜†

  6. I don't know if any of you have looked closely at the image here, but there's a load of women that showed up too. One has to wonder how many of them pulled. šŸ˜†

Have Your Say:

