Nocturnal

Looks like tonight is going to be one of those nights for me. I'm shattered, absolutely exhausted even. Problem is I'm also wired and my system is flooding with adrenaline to keep me awake.

I've always been this way. Even in primary school I can remember still being awake at this time and doing homework to pass the time. I have a theory that some of us are naturally built for the night rather than the day. Happier in the peaceful darkness, these people generally feel more awake at night than they do in the morning and tend to perk up as the day progresses. A lot of those people get night jobs, and those that don't have to all but force themselves to sleep if they want to keep a diurnal routine. I'm one of those people. My body is constantly trying to get me back into a nocturnal routine, even after nine years of living in daylight. My eyes adjust to darkness much faster than they do to the light. Hell, I'm even stronger, faster and more endurant at night. It's not easy living at night but it's becoming easier every day. Where one I was relegated to shopping in twenty-four hour gas stations and eating at cheap diners near nightclubs, now twenty-four hour supermarkets are becoming more prevalent over here and more shops are open earlier in the day or close much later. Sometimes I wonder why medical professionals always say that people need sunlight when so many of my kind are around, and then I remember that most clinical trials are held during the day. Seems like a bit of an oversight eh? I've lived like this for nine years now and nights like this are getting fewer and farther between. Slowly I'm retraining my body to allow me to sleep at night. Sometimes I can even force myself to sleep on a night like this. Other times I'll still be awake when morning comes and I'll head out to get a little shopping done. Of course that brings up the other problem with being naturally nocturnal – when the dawn comes I start to get weaker and the exhaustion can take over naturally where my body was keeping it at bay before. That's one of the reasons I prefer to force myself to sleep.

I can hear the birds singing outside now. I don't know when they started but they're getting louder, presumably as more species wake up. People are driving by on their ways to and from work. The day is beginning and the sky is starting to turn that deep blue that comes just before sunrise. I'm off to cuddle up next to the woman I love and try to get some sleep before morning forces it on me against my will.

48 thoughts on “Nocturnal

  1. I have the same theory myself. Perhaps we were the ones who kept watch? It's a pain when most jobs have very fixed times.

  2. I generally like the night more too, but then I have this strange thing of loving the sun and summer… :left:

  3. That's me, too! Always been a night owl … seems a lot of us here are! ๐Ÿ™‚ Except Rosie … (shun) … ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. … and Kitty.I've always been a morning person, even though I've got some bloody birds outside my window that wake up and sing before it even gets light outside! :bomb:

  5. Don't shun Rosie, David. We all know flowers need the sun. Pluck her for not being night-blooming instead. :up:

  6. Hm. I feel the need to clearify that I'm definitely not a morning person. It's just that I love being out on a warm, sunny day (that's day – definitely not morning! :p) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Without alarms, I tend to gravitate towards sleeping between 3-4am and waking between 9-11am. But, as I work, I've got to force myself to a 7am start and sleep at maybe 1am :ko: Darn alarms :knight:

  8. I'm pretty much the same without the farting on Kim bit :p.It's easy to just stay awake all night and sleep at around 5 till 9 or 10. Easier even as my mum is the same and this means when I don't have early appointments we all sleep in. ๐Ÿ˜†

  9. I just assume the general miasma generated by my farts ultimately works its way over to Kim … :whistle: ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. I don't like to be addressed by that particular abbreviation of my name, so I'm guessing I'm either safe from multiple farts or people just like to piss me off ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. … Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim …Ooh … Cois needs the franger of a spaniel … the implication being he has a proportionately dog-sized manhood! Burn!… Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim Kim …;) :heart:

  12. :sst: Opera EldersCommunity Mister Aubrey, it's time for your jello then you and the other old folks will be doing a revised version of the chicken dance. .did you soil yourself again Mister Aubrey?

  13. Yay! I'm an Opera Elder! Time to tie an onion on my belt, which was the style at the time … … like the time I caught the ferry over to Shelbyville. I needed a new heel for my shoe, so, I decided to go to Morganville, which is what they called Shelbyville in those days. So I tied an onion to my belt, which was the style at the time. Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. โ€œGive me five bees for a quarterโ€, you'd say.Now where were we? Oh yeah: The important thing was, I had an onion on my belt, which was the style at the time. They didn't have white onions because of the war. The only thing you could get was those big yellow ones …

Have Your Say:

