The Problem With Modern Art

Would you look at the state of what passes for art these days? This painting sold for twenty six thousand Australian dollars, yet it looks like it was painted by a two year old just throwing paint at a canvas. Bloody ridiculous. Still Aelita Andre, the young artist who painted it, probably wont mind me saying that. Hell, she was actually two years old when she painted it so I doubt there's any grounds for the currently three year old artist to be annoyed. Plus, ya know, she can't read yet.

I find it stupendously descriptive of the whole modern art scene that a three year old has already painted and sold thirty two paintings for thousands of dollars each. The worst thing about it is that the media have spent more time criticising the girl's parents than they have her art. They say the girl is being exploited by her parents so that they can make a quick buck. Yeah, cause that's the problem with this scenario. If you ask me, which I'll assume you did as you're still reading, the parents have found a novel way to make a little money towards the ever rising cost of raising a child. Yes they are exploiting people, but they're exploiting those who read emotions into a spill and pay thousands to own that spill, not their own daughter. If these idiots are willing to pay thousands to own art that not only looks like a two year old's tantrum with paint but is a two year old's tantrum with paint, then they deserve to be exploited.

Aelita's parents put most of the proceeds from sales of her paintings into a trust fund for the young girl to use when she's older, and the rest goes on paint.

25 thoughts on “The Problem With Modern Art

  1. Well done Aelita. :yes:.And I hope she sells many, many more paint spills! :hat:.(anyone who pays that much for any painting has too much money to begin with. :rolleyes:)

  2. Call me an idiot but I'd put that on my wall because I like the colors. But I wouldn't pay thousands of dollars for it. A hundred bucks is still way more than I'd pay.

  3. Kim, just imagine them all standing around it talking about the genius of the artist to put such a powerful sense of rage into the painting while dealing with the creative power of womanhood. :lol:.Aadil, Dennis and Pineas, I find it ridiculous that these people buy these things for such high prices. Clearly a sign of having way more money than taste. There are artists all over the world with incredible talent, yet people pay for something that a two year old can throw together.Remi, I actually chose this one because it does show off some technical ability. The straight stripes set it apart from other high priced pieces of modern art. I believe it would have been a bit better looking if the reds were white or silver, myself, but that's personal taste. πŸ˜€

  4. Well, the parents are doing the right thing. If some idjit wants to pay for it, I say take what the traffic will bear! πŸ˜€

  5. Yarrow Paisley, perhaps you might venture to some of Mik's other posts. You'll find plenty with links.Failing that, venture yourself over to Google if you're that interested in a particular news story. It takes mere seconds, whereas writing that lovely little paragraph would have taken you considerably longer, I'd imagine, yes?You might wish to enter another search under the terms "etiquette : how not to condescend".Anyway, I won't go on about it. I've got better uses of my time and frankly, typing this was a waste.

  6. I'd venture to speculate that less than ten percent of the readers of this post will come to it after, say, a week or a month.

    According to my stats, a vast majority of my visitors come here at least a year after I post, searching for things I've written about. It's those people who fill my inbox with complaints about dead links (never with a link to my actual post containing the dead link they're complaining about and rarely with even a hint on the subject matter) and cause me to go through 1655 posts and articles looking for, replacing and removing links for hours at a time.

    Perhaps you object to the aesthetics of inline links — just put them at the base of the post, like a footnote.

    I do link quite a lot, either inline or footnote, to something else here or to a source. You've just been unlucky enough to find the few posts where I haven't. Take a look at some of the posts on my sidebar or click the editorial tag if you want my really high quality posts with lots of links included. Hell, just look at my previous post.

    it takes only a few seconds. I mean, Copy & Paste

    Actually, for a mobile blogger it's a little different. Copy and Paste is a pain in the ass and regularly breaks the parser on this site (the admin here had to remove a post from the server for me just last month) due to the way it works. If I want to create a link I have to type up the HTML code for the hyperlink, visit the page I want to link to, go to add that page as a bookmark, copy the link details down, cancel the bookmark adding, write the link details into the hyperlink code. It's all very boring and time consuming and boring when people can easily search for details on the story if they're interested in it.

    I'll probably go google this story, since I find it interesting, but why put one to that trouble?

    Why? Because you'll get a better experience that way and more information on the subject matter. Information is a living entity and, as such, always changing. I could easily link to three or four news sources about this story, perhaps an art gallery showing her pieces or a collector talking about one they've bought. But there's a problem with that in that it would be gating the story. Anyone who visited later would read this, then click the links and read those, then send me complaints about any links that don't work and leave the story knowing only what I'd written and linked to. If they're interested in it and search they can find out details that aren't currently known. Perhaps there'll be a scandal later on when people find out that the artist is actually a student at the local university getting a couple of hundred dollars for the work. Maybe the parents will be found spending all the money on themselves or the girl will lose interest in painting as she gets older. We don't know the future and can't plan for everything so it's pretty cool when I get drawn to an old post where someone's put newer information in the comments.

  7. Comment all you want, and feel free to complain, but leave out the "all the cool kids" stuff eh? Just remember that each little post isn't meant as a way to show off my writing skill (I've included a couple of links for you in my last comment which show what my quality posts are like and show my process for every post) but is just something interesting that I want to share with people. It's very rare that I'll let myself loose and really write something that I want to spend a lot of time on (I'm currently working of four large posts bit by bit), but when I do you'll find those posts are the ones I spend most time on with formatting, links and images.Oh, and it's Mik by the way.

  8. Mik, you got it wrong. In that painting a burst of colours represent vanity of emptiness that comes out of our everyday life – her prosaic youth just can`t resist but with power of brush through fiery colours touch the very core of… errrr… what was that I wanted to say… :left::jester:

  9. Art is doing fine. He had a slight case of vocal strain, so him and Paul have decided it would be best to move the scheduled concert dates. The dates have been rescheduled to allow for an adequate period of rest and rehabilitation, after which Art is expected to make a complete recovery.http://www.artgarfunkel.com/concerts.html:cheers:

  10. I saw a documentary once about art dealers meeting to determine prices on various works of art and also buying them from one another while upping the price each time. The effect was to drive up the price of the artist's work. At an auction, for instance, 'An Anonymous Buyer' (art dealer one) via the phone will buy a painting for a ridiculous sum. Six months later, 'An Anonymous Collector' (art dealer one) will auction off the work, which will be sold at a greater price than it was bought for initially. And who buys it this time? Another 'anonymous buyer' (art dealer two). And so one and so forth. Meanwhile, all the non-anonymous folk who have paintings by that artist (sold to them by art dealers one and two) are finding that the 'value' of the works have increased (notice how I've said nothing about the artistic merits of the works themselves, by the way; and the artist often knows nothing about this in any case), so they sell them … though the dealers who started all this (thus providing them commission on those sales).And so it goes …Of course, not all art dealers do this, but it's one of the things that can make the industry such a huge wank.

  11. There's also a trend, lately, towards NaΓ―ve Art, with proponents desperate to find people who fit the criteria of 'not having had any formal training in art'. This could, I suppose, fit that definition …

  12. There was a similar case here some years ago. I couldn't find it though, but it was a boy whose age wasn't revealed until all the positive criticism had rained down over his art. The world wants to be fooled.

  13. *starts throwing a tantrum with his paints* :left: I just wasted a shitload of paint for nothing didn't I? :insane:

  14. I have actually both painted and sold pictures, and I must admit that most of them was not worth the money people gave me. It seems I have some sort of talent in the way of putting things together. People happen to like the combination of colours and shapes, I put on the canvas – or a piece of board, my personal favorite. It only takes me half an hour to paint a painting and I only use three or four colours – no big effort, honestly. However, people like to pay for stuff. Anyway, something strange happens when I have finished a piece. It is as if the painting starts a life on it's own. I have experienced one or two times to come to someone's office, and I see this painting on the wall, and I know it is the painting I sold her, but it seems as if all connection between the artist and the piece has disappeared and all I see is some piece of art on a wall. This is strange, but I know I'm not the only one who has experienced that.I guess the money people spend on a piece is a form of symbol of the original value of the art, and the artist himself may have very little importance or influence in this respect.

  15. So from one definite point on the painting is only something like a can of soup, something to be sold and bought?

  16. Well, sort of. Sound a bit cynical, though. The painting might mean something to me as I paint it, and I assume it means somthing to the one who is buying it too. My approach to the work and the buyers approach might not be the same. What I am saying is, that the painting itself, the product, has a seperate meaning on it's own, if you know what I mean. It is not just something someone has painted for someone else to hang on her wall, it has a story, a life, on it's own. What I say may not make sense, though. It is difficult to explain.However, I consider most art as conusmer products. Artists like to get payed for what they do. Like the Soup Company. Only, in reality most of the hundreds of thousands goes directly into the dealer's pockets. The artists normally don't get much. Most of them are dead anyway.

  17. I think that many of those who buy modern art don't want anything pretty or nice or well-made – they deliberately want something ill-defined or non-arty so they can sit around with their friends sipping martinis and saying things like "note the vibrancy of the brush strokes and the sheer force of this parabolic arching red that suffuses the entire piece? Obviously the artist at this point wanted to really express how she felt about her mortgage repayments…" :left:They're not art, they're conversation pieces.

Have Your Say:

