Cold Snap

Thirty eight year old Amy Otteson faced her worst nightmare earlier this month. She and her husband, forty one year old Dave, were on holiday at their cabin in Gunnison Colorado along with most of the extended family who had nearby cabins. Dave had returned to work that day leaving Amy to look after the three children. While Amy was getting five year old Ryan (note to parents everywhere, Ryan shouldn’t be the name of your daughter) and four year old Kirk out of the bath in time for dinner, her two year old son Gore (and you thought Ryan was bad) managed to open the back door of the cabin and wandered out into the wilderness. As soon as Amy realised he’d gone missing she started calling and looking for him, soon calling twenty other family members in to help search. By the time Gore had been found he’d been missing for over twenty minutes, and his body was trapped under a log in an irrigation ditch over three hundred and fifty feet from the cabin. He wasn’t breathing. Amy’s father Kirk (a retired surgeon) and cousin Suzanne (a nurse) immediately began CPR until paramedics arrived and moved him to a children’s hospital in Denver where his heart was finally restarted. He had been clinically dead for an hour by this point.

So there you have it, every real mother’s worst nightmare. A child slips away and dies. They’re brought back but after so much time has passed that they’re obviously going to be severely brain damaged. This is the reality Amy and Dave Otteson were facing up to, yet it never happened. You see, temperatures in that valley drop to two degrees centigrade at this time of year and, combined with the child’s age, this produced a rare state of hibernation where the entire body slows down and needs less oxygen to keep running. This rare state would probably not occured in someone older who had more control of their body but as Gore was so young he succumbed to it easily. When his grandfather and cousin started CPR they kept his system further oxygenated. These two factors staved off any damage that could have been caused by lack of oxygen to the brain, but Gore wasn’t out of the woods yet. The ordeal he’d been through meant that his brain was quite vulnerable and doctors decided to try a controversial treatment to bring him out of it. They lowered his body temperature to a steady thirty two degrees centigrade for forty eight hours to minimise his brain activity and give it a chance to recover. After his temperature was raised again he woke up as good as new.

So there you go folks, the boy who died for an hour and lived to tell the tale.

32 thoughts on “Cold Snap

  1. his young age and family/doctors saved this child! I wonder if he will have any memories when he grows up… thanks for sharing!

  2. I have a personal experience that supports this thing. Some ten years back I fell into the habor in late September, and lost conscious emidiately because of what is called "cryogenic shock", all bodily functions simply goes in a stand-by state because of the low temperature. Normally people will drown shortly after having fallen into water that cold, but they got me out before that and drove me to the hospital. Still in a state of shock with breathing and blood circulation going really really slow, I was connected to life support machines, and I lay like that for two days after which I just woke up, feeling a bit groggy and with a bad headache.They told me that I had actually been dead for a while, and that they had been contemplating whether to contact my next of kin to ask them to decide if they should keep the machines going or just let me go. As it was, I came out of this episode unharmed and with no permanent injuries… Sort of miracolous…Not exactly the same thing, but similar. Miracles do happen.

  3. That is amazing, Martin. Did you have any dreams or do you remember anything from time being in that state? I guess brain is working on a different level but managed to get you out of that :yes:

  4. They say, I was in a deep coma – coma comes in different states, it seems. They kept me breathing with a machine, but my pulse went on by it self, only very weak. However, I have no recollection what so ever about anything. I was really drunk when the accident happened and scarcely remember anything about the events leading to it. I just woke up, as from an ordinary loss of consciousness, a total balckout, disorientated and with a booming headache. No shining lights or departet family members or angel choirs or anything, just utter blackness – like oblivion is supposed to be. They examined me the following days, kept me under observation with things attached to my head, monitoring brain activity. No damage at all. Reckon I was lucky.

  5. This was back in 1992. Much has happened since that. I eventually quit drinking seven years ago, and have been all sober and clean for five. Actually, I've managed to escape close death three times in all. The mentioned time was the first. Unless getting seven shot gun pellets in the left forearm at the age of seventeen counts as a close death situation.As to my being here: there is no such thing as coincidence. Trust me.;)

  6. Getting a papercut is a near death experience that brats these days boast about. Nevermind shotgun pellets. Business or pleasure?The human body is indeed remarkable, with several safety measures built in. I did a good job on it. 😉

  7. Hunting accident. Somebody was uncareful with his gun. There was a doctor in the company. He took out the pellets one by one with a set of pliers and drove med to the hospital where I got 10 meters af gaze on the wounds. No big deal, honestly. Sounds much worse than it was. I still have the scars down my forearm, though. Shows like white spots when I get a tan.The human body is a nice place to be, I think.

  8. Originally posted by Furie:

    (note to parents everywhere, Ryan shouldn't be the name of your daughter)

    I think there's an American law in some States that requires you to give your first born girl child a boy's name! :left:.How else do you explain people like Hillary Clinton, Paris Hilton etc! :left:.

  9. So many people like Paris Hilton famous for nothing when people who do something to improve themselves (and, by extension, others), like Martin, go unrecognized … :faint:

  10. I am determined to improve out of self-presevation; to improve my chances of survival in an increasingly darker and colder world. That is the truth. I am not trying to be a role-model for anyone. I have long since decided that the legend on my grave stone is to be:'Do not try this at home' But thanks anyways for the encouragement. I appreciate.

  11. I want my tombstone to read, "What a long, strange trip it's been!" :left: :sst: That's a line from "Truckin' by The Greatful Dead

  12. 😆 Funny, I've never done acid, I'm certaintly not anyones "groupie" (with the possible exceptions of Sheryl Crow and Allison Kraus, :chef: ) but I've always loved the Deads music. Bob Weir has a sarcastic streak that appeals to me. 😀

Have Your Say:

