Weird Facebook Guys

This is a kind of sequel to a post I made a few years back. In that post I presented a song I’d seen on Youtube so it’s hardly my own work, but the subject matter and style of the song were very close to my own heart. You see, I believe that if you can make someone laugh while learning a very serious lesson then they’ll be more receptive to the lesson than if you just preach, and it’s something I’ve tried to make a constant on this page – the light mixed with the darkness. And then there’s the subject matter – the sort of creeps who come on to everything they perceive as female while on the web. As a very male person who happens to have long hair I’ve been subject to confusion on some sides (my favourite being a game developer’s forum where an entire thread got subverted to the subject of whether I’m male or female despite my gender being clearly shown directly under my avatar on all of my posts) and some messages from people thinking I’m female that I wouldn’t want any woman I know to be sent, nevermind young girls.

Just gonna sit there and stalk some girl?
Spend all night commenting like a bunch of pervs.
I’m getting scared by you creepy guys.
It’s not like I ever met you in real life.
I hate weird Facebook guys.

I can’t believe you’ve been to that place.
I ‘m always there just not on weeknights.
Yo, it’s been a while, right?
Girl you lookin’ damn nice!

Remember me?
We met last night in the keg line.
I thought we hit it off, right?
You got plans for Tuesday night?
Hi there what’s up?
Wanted to say
“I just think it’s fate that you live on my best friend’s dorm room floor.
And by the way, next weekend I think I’ll be in town,
And was thinking maybe we’d go on a date and see what happens later.”
Hey who’s this moron?
Yo fuck you dude.
Go away.
You fag.
Come here I’ll kick your ass.
Aw babe, you okay? Are you in pain?
Need chicken noodle soup?
P.S. I’m Nate.
How’s your bro Dan?
He was such a bad ass.
He passed away.
Thanks for the add.
You model?
Hey you never came to class.
It’s all good, I’ll bring the notes to your place.
Hey was outside your door for 3 hours you never came.
No worries I can come back again.

Just gonna sit there and creep my pics.
Man what the hell, is this the way you get your kicks?
I’m wearing overalls, no skin at all.
What the hell you creeps?
That was my mom’s birthday. That was my mom’s birthday

You ever see a friend of a friend that you never met but you knew you would click.
It would be a shame if you never got to know me.
Was at Bojo’s on Friday.
Were you there?
Must have missed you.
Hey, I tried to hit you up but you don’t answer.
You swore that you would call me back tomorrow.
I feel up to make the drive down.
This was probably a mistake but you blocked me.
Would be cool to undo it.
Who’s this guy with the spiky hair?
What’s this doucher?
Who’s that dude?
Boyfriend?
Just got to your campus.
Wanna meet up?
Hey there babe, was just browsing.
Where’d your photos go?
Why’d you go and change all your settings around?
Missed your halloween pics.
Hey it’s me.
It happened again – accidentally blocked me girl, but that’s okay.
I just found your MySpace.
Go on add me.
Missed you at shot night.
What are you doing now?
Call me, I’m in your hall.
Just put you in my top friends.
Messaged you again.
Yo, you gotta stop by Steve’s.
Hello, hello.
Remember me? We’re in the same psych class.

Just gonna go ahead and message me.
We’re not friends. To me you’re all a bunch of creeps.
Oh, what can I do to stop these nerds?
It seems desperate but this is my last resort,
I’m deleting my Facebook.
I’m deleting my Facebook. 

38 thoughts on “Weird Facebook Guys

  1. No mobile version anywhere that I can find, I'm afraid. Mobile version found by Clint. It's to the tune of Eminem and Rhianna's Love The Way You Lie.

  2. "I believe that if you can make someone laugh while learning a very serious lesson then they'll be more receptive to the lesson than if you just preach."So do I, but it doesn't work on people who have no sense of humour. They will simply dismiss you as silly, not to be taken seriously. And the thing is that the people who need to be educated the most often are people with no sense of humour, because people with no sense of humour often are extremely selfcentered and overconfident.This is a problem, I think.Nice lyrics. Spot on.

  3. I am on Facebook cause a friend invited me there, and most of my friends there are the ones I met on My Opera. 😀 But really some people there have 4000 people in their friends list.

  4. Originally posted by KYren:

    But really some people there have 4000 people in their friends list.

    Which is insanely stupid :doh:Great finding, Mik :up:

  5. I have got a sense of humour (I think, therefore I have, right? :rolleyes:) – but – I find the whole online stalker thing exceedingly creepy and maybe even a bit scary. I'm reasonably tough and can look after myself & girlfriend & daughter as & when necessary, but on-line is a bit different – it's like there's nowhere to hide, if you want to *stay* online. You *can* keep changing your id to escape a stalker (and we've seen that happen here, in these very forums) – but, that ultimately just screws everything up.Funny song, fucking serious message.

  6. I get a number of bogus facebook messages in hotmail. Junk or scams, not sure which – people I've never heard of, and when I check FB, there's of course nothing. I just delete them all anyway (even if real 😆 )

  7. Block and Go Offline. They sound like football tactics 😆 I wonder if guys get stalked by girls, or is it only just the other way around? 🙂

  8. Guys get stalked by girls too, but not in the same ways, and it's not as prevalent. This is one of the cases where men are generally worse than women. In the case of women it's usually housewives from America who gain an obsession with some guy (usually younger than themselves) and start to try and separate them from everyone around them, leaving weighted comments, and driving people away while taking the place of everyone who leaves bit by bit.Western guys are more likely to have had been taught by the media and everyone around them that without an overly enthusiastic display of machismo, they're not real men. Because of this many believe it's their duty to mankind to leave sexual comments and act like they're desperate for sex from anyone they can find of the opposite gender, and that the women themselves take this as a compliment. Sad, isn't it, but it's not just the west where it's a problem.It's probably because of the attitude towards women over there combined with the high rates of internet usage compared to other countries, but a large amount of Indian guys seem to regard women as possessions online and talk to them in a condescending and sexual manner almost as soon as they meet them. I can't give a specific reason for it apart from what I've said, but I'm sure Kiran can and would leap at the chance.

  9. @Mik – sounds quite mad, doesn't it, when out into plain words – I think that's why I might find it a bit scary – it's the plain, simple abnormality of talking to (or 'at') a person online in such a way as to (in my opinion) de-humanise them and make them into an imaginary object…if you see what I mean. There's a real person out there that the stalker thinks of as a projection of his (or her) imagination – vivid, and real enough so that the stalker gets a response to his (or her) comments……it's weird and I'm kinda too tired to think very clearly about it – I wonder what the stalker 'personality' does if he (or she) doesn't have internet access? Nuisance phone calls? It's very disturbing.\edit : Of course, the stalker personality may well 'stalk' someone in real life – even worse. But the Internet makes for a very nice 'one way mirror' situation, doesn't it….there's a whole lot of weirdness that can be out there, if you think enough about it…

  10. The personality type is different from regular stalkers who operate in real life. In fact, the women who stalk guys online fit the profile more than the guys acting this way. In the case of the guys who do this sort of thing they don't see themselves as doing anything wrong, and it's merely the regular internet tendency of exaggerating personality traits that makes them think this is an acceptable way to behave. I could probably get a full sized post out of this if I went in depth.

  11. Still looking for a mobile version myself Clint. I think I may be able to make one with a little effort and I'll send it on if I do.

  12. http://my.opera.com/KYren/albums/show.dml?id=633283'Cause we have already killed the majority of women here in India and are on our mission to kill women from other countries. Seriously, India is really an oppressive society. Women have secondary position here. Most of them are illiterate. That's why Indian women aren't that active on the net as well. Even in "co-educational" colleges, you'd hardly find guys and girls speaking with eachother. Internet seems to open up people's pent up selves. But I think we must learn some netiquettes.

  13. Originally posted by KYren:

    'Cause we have already killed the majority of women here and are on our mission to kill women from other countries.

    It was at that moment that Kiran realised he'd never find a girl online again. 😆

  14. If the singer had clearly mentioned in her relationship status that she is in a relationship or married or engaged then no guy would have hit on her.Dirk, Darko and even you met your girlfriends online. So I won't be that harsh on social sites. At the same time I'd tell people that don't act like freaks, and It's better to find your girlfriend or wife in real life.

  15. The point is that no-one should have to cut themselves off from talking to anyone except who they already know, no-one should have to not show their face and hide behind a cartoon (or indeed, a cat), simply because some people will victimise them if they don't. It's basically creating the same situation on the web for women as in certain middle eastern countries.

  16. As I said, for many it's the combination of being taught that they have to act macho and the anonymity of the internet allowing for our personality traits to be exaggerated. While a majority of the guys aren't doing it on purpose, and will actually feel attacked themselves if they have what they're doing pointed out to them, the point is that they're asserting dominance over women by their actions so that they can feel more manly.Why they don't just bomb a web kitty, I have no idea. 😉

  17. Well found Clint. I checked there but they didn't have it when I posted this. Added it to the main post.Only just managed to realign the java manager on this phone so Mini 4.2 will work, Aadil. It looks fine to me though so it's probably a MyOpera problem affecting a few phones.Kiran, I can't speak for the others but the only reason I found someone online is that I wasn't looking for any relationships at all and kind of fell into one.

  18. Originally posted by Kiran:

    If the singer had clearly mentioned in her relationship status that she is in a relationship or married or engaged then no guy would have hit on her.

    You're very naive if you think those dudes even read what women write in their statuses. Not even a 'fuck off' scares them off.

  19. Then sure block them. But there's no reason for you to leave the site because of them. Instead don't have photos of yourself in your profile if you aren't interested in a relationship, have a cartoon image instead. Set your account for friends only access, and add only those who you trust or are really acquainted with.

  20. Originally posted by Zaphira:

    You're very naive if you think those dudes even read what women write in their statues. Not even a 'fuck off' scares them off.

    Damn straight. Originally posted by KYren:

    Instead don't have photos of yourself in your profile if you aren't interested in a relationship, have a cartoon image instead.

    And why should a woman have to hide because men can't think for one second that a girl (or 500) wouldn't be interested? The fact of the matter is that nobody should have to be anything other than themselves just to avoid hordes of one-handed browsing, self-ego-(and other things)rubbing jerks.Originally posted by Cois:

    Mik has a "cartoonish" [no Mik, it's not] pic of himself here and he still gets hit on..

    Even though it's in jest, it is a perfectly valid point. Anything vaguely female-like (yes, even cute cartoons of animals or some such thing) is subject to this crap. Oh, and don't get me started on pathetic stalker people either.

  21. Originally posted by kimmielicious:

    Originally posted by Zaphira: You're very naive if you think those dudes even read what women write in their statues. Not even a 'fuck off' scares them off.

    Netiquette is all well and good, but the people who *need* to read up on it aren't ever gonna. There are a number of idiots out there and they don't give a fuck (or ever get one, obviously).And regarding the photo-as-image, or cartoon-as-image – irrelevant. The number of photo-as-image presentations out there that are so obviousy 'I wish I looked like this' pictures….haha…..a photo means nothing, really…could (and in many cases is) just some random pretty-boy or girl pic found in google. 🙂

  22. Originally posted by Furie:

    It looks fine to me though so it's probably a MyOpera problem affecting a few phones.

    It looks fine, but it doesn't actually submit the comment because it's not clickable for me! :awww:.It works in mobile view but not in full view! :irked:.Originally posted by KYren:

    Netiquettes is the unofficial constitution of the internet that everyone must know before becoming a netizen. It's rules should be in every basic computer course. If you don't behave, you're blocked.

    It doesn't work like that, not even in real life! :rolleyes:.If it did, we wouldn't have any crimes, wars or exploding kitty cats! :whistle:.

  23. Originally posted by Furie:

    Kiran, I can't speak for the others but the only reason I found someone online is that I wasn't looking for any relationships at all and kind of fell into one

    Exactly the same with me. Not that I'm complaining in any way 😀

Have Your Say:

