The Importance Of Words


Transcript

Hi! My name is Alye.
I am in 8th grade
Do I look HAPPY? 🙂
Well, I’m not 😥
I’ve been like this since 6th grade.
I don’t have many friends. 3? 4?
Why?
I am bullied. Not a day has gone by without one of these words:
Bitch, Whore, Fat, Lesbo, Slut, Freak, Ugly, Wierd, Fag
I don’t cut. But I’m close…
I’m in therapy/guidance more than my classes.
I like my school, just not the kids
Will high school get worse????????
HELP
THINK before you say things. IT MIGHT SAVE…
LIVES
Don’t be a KILLERSTICKS + STONES?
WORDS DO HURT
Think, this could be you……. 😦


I’ve written a lot about the importance of words before (here for example) and it saddens me that we still live in a world where people don’t give a flying fuck about each other. A world where kids insult others to the point of considering self-harm or suicide simply because it’s fun for them. What kind of monsters are human beings that this can be counted as fun? What hope can we have for the future when this is our present state?

36 thoughts on “The Importance Of Words

  1. Originally posted by qlue:

    I couldn't read every page.

    When the web is a bit steadier I'll put up a transcript.

  2. Man, I have no idea how children get through school. Wouldn't go back there for all the tea in China – and I had it easy!

  3. Been there, done that, got that, had that, ate that, threw that back up, understood that, didn't cut that but stubbed cigarettes out on that, hated that, loathed that, *was* that….but can love and be loved. Seemed to fix it. Nice hap too.

  4. It usually levels out in 8th grade. That is my experience – with the kids in my own school and the kids in my sons schools. I've never been a victim myself nor have my sons, but I don't think there's anybody who has ever been to school who doesn't know it.She's right. Words hurt.

  5. "Usually" is not "always". And "some" is to much. I've had that too. And it didn't stop in 8th grade. Sometimes one thinks that it'll never stop. 😡

  6. We have a saying here: Killed by word that was too heavy.Some people just need more time to learn to fight back. And some never do, becoming victims for the rest of their lives. People just pick on them, feeling their fear and inability to protect themselves.

  7. I had to post this when I saw it as the girl is using my party line. Words are important, and a vast majority of people don't seem to realise that. It's quite sad that the ones who do seem to realise that always seem to have something in common with this girl.

  8. The worst thing is that some people seem to believe that it's "just to do something". That angers me more than I'm able to express!I'll shut up for now.

  9. Originally posted by Zaphira:

    The worst thing is that some people seem to believe that it's "just to do something".

    Just as in justified? :confused:

  10. i've showed this around a bit and getting some awesome responses from "how much guts she has to actually put this out there" to people feeling really sorry for her as the little half smile at the end tugs at the heartstrings. :awww:

  11. :awww: Indeed.It's quite a clever piece, I think, whether it's real or not. The music choice is really inspired.

  12. She's got more guts than the ones bullying her will ever have.Kids can be so cruel. So can adults.I wonder… do kids learn this kind of stuff from their parents, or do they grow up continuing to bully…

  13. Generally, bullies go on to lead happier regular lives. Ain't that a kick in the crotch eh? These little shits impose themselves on others and that builds their self-confidence to the point that they can have a happier life and not need to bully, while those who are bullied are more likely to take it out on others when the opportunity arises. That's all statistics though and can't be applied to the individual (some bullies continue through their lives while some bullied are more respectful of others as a result). The question is, how does parenting deal with that little fact? If you love your kids and want the best for them in life you really should be encouraging them to bully others… Horrific. Personally I say the soul is more important and should be nurtured as well as the future life so these kids should be taught how to get to that level of happiness without needing to go through that stage.

  14. A study in 2009 of 5000 pupils in 40 countries showed that New Zealand has the 2nd highest level of bullying in the world, so it's well known here.My daughter suffered it quite a bit when she was younger, but learned to punch gratifyingly hard, and not respond like a victim, and eventually she got ignored by the bullies and even became a bit of a 'mother-hen' for a number of younger girls, because she was perceived as being 'OK' (i.e. not bully-able) and a cool individual, with a certain amount of grudging respect. As I understand it, anyway. Being able to punch hard, laugh at threats and not act scared certainly helped.Speaking as a parent, bullying is *very* distressing when it's happening to your kid and she comes home crying, starts feeling sick and not wanting to go to school etc. All the classic symptoms….and one *has* to nail the school and tell them what's going on, and who the culprits are (assuming you can find out, which is not necessarily easy), and also arm your kid with some ammo, some techniques, psychological and even physical, to enable her to keep her head above water. The schools (here, certainly) fall over themselves to sort it out and isolate the bullies.I don't have any boys, so I don't know how it works for them, tbut my girl got bullied by boys and girls, for a while, until she became 'not scared' and punched a few and hurt them. As you may realise, this is by and large physical bullying and scare tactics, not the psychological 'hate' bullying shown above, which is way worse, and I think harder to deal with and arm against.Here, the bullies learn it mostly at home. A large element of kids live in vastly different cultural and financial circumstances to the average European kid, and they *do* get beaten a lot at home. Sent to school with a punch, no breakfast, no lunch, go home to a punch and maybe chips and fanta for dinner. 365 days a year. Quite a lot of kids as young as say, between 6 and 12, display gang tattoos (maybe inked rather than actual tattoos) and repeat at school what they experience at home, violence and disrespect (particularly towards women), drug and alcohol use, all the classic Pacific social problems. They get them all and live with them, and there'd be a significant percentage like that in many average rural schools, such as the one my girl attends.

  15. Mik you should retract your comment as now all parents figure they'll rather raise some bullies cause their lives would turn out "the better for it." :insane:

  16. Originally posted by FlaRin:

    My daughter suffered it quite a bit when she was younger, but learned to punch gratifyingly hard, and not respond like a victim, and eventually she got ignored by the bullies and even became a bit of a 'mother-hen' for a number of younger girls, because she was perceived as being 'OK' (i.e. not bully-able) and a cool individual, with a certain amount of grudging respect. As I understand it, anyway. Being able to punch hard, laugh at threats and not act scared certainly helped.

    Attagirl! :yes: She's a future Furie. Doesn't that make you a happy bunny? :pOriginally posted by Cois:

    Mik you should retract your comment as now all parents figure they'll rather raise some bullies cause their lives would turn out "the better for it."

    This is the world we live in. Bullies generally lead happy lives once they realise what sort of person they were and come to terms with it (easier for them as they haven't had someone making them second guess themselves for as long as bullied kids). It's a stage of growth that helps them out. As you say though, they'll be retarding someone else's chance at a happy life by doing so, so if there are any parents reading this and thinking that getting your kid to be a bully will help them out, I beg you to consider this: Do you really want your child to be viewed as a monster by other kids and parents simply because you don't know how to raise them the right way?

  17. Originally posted by Mik:

    She's a future Furie. Doesn't that make you a happy bunny?

    Obviously. Plus she has the indisputable advantage of pretty knees :)I hate bullying and only survived it myself by pretending to not give a fuck and also to a certain extent by learning to 'be invisible'. The final straw to the most feared bully, while pinning me to the ground and holding a knife to my throat, in the usual crowd of fascinated boys, was me saying "go on then, do it – you know you won't….so fuck off…". Luckily he didn't, and did, if you see what I mean. I didn't really get bothered again in the same way.I'm not certain, but I think bullying works by giving an insecure individual a method of sidestepping their insecurities, and pushing them onto other people. Putting the monkey on someone else's back. It's probably a bit hard to pin down unless you've actually been one at some point and remember how it felt. On the other hand it might just be fun to terrorise less physically & mentally agile individuals.\edit : this is not untypical of certain areas in NZ :http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10715019&ref=rss

  18. Depends on the person. Some actually don't know they're being bullies and think they're just having a laugh, being horrified when they realise what they've done to others. Some are emulating their home lives but with themselves in the position of power as they think that's what being a grown up is. Others still are simply after the power they feel others have, and pick a target who is different enough that they'll get back up enough to take power from them. There are as many reasons as there are people.

  19. And some of us are extremely good at becoming targets! :insane:.Sorta like lightning rods. :doh:.You eventually learn how to avoid people! :rolleyes:.

  20. I was bullied quite a lot, but eventually also learned the invisible trick. I'm ashamed to say I also did some bullying of my own, of the one kid in the same year lower down the pecking order than me.My brother got it much worse than me (he had a speech impediment among a few other 'flags') , and still carries the emotional scars aged 32.

  21. I got so good at being invisible that I could infiltrate a group of <redacted> and learn all their secrets as they plotted and schemed, totally oblivious to my presence. :whistle:.People reveal the most amazing things when they forget that you're there. :devil:.

  22. I was the fat kid for a while and bullied relentlessly. Then at age twelve puberty hit like a bomb and left me a foot taller and about the same amount broader shouldered than the kids who were three years ahead of me. I bullied the bullies and loved every moment of it. I was such a bloody wanker back then, never once thinking that I was doing them as much harm as they'd do to others. In my mind I was a hero taking down the bad guys. 🙄

  23. I only stopped being fat in my twenties. :cry:.In those days, the bmi worshippers would have had a heart attack just seeing me. :faint:.By highschool I'd learnt how to mostly avoid physical bullying.

  24. being rather small of stature I was bullied enough till I stood up to a guy alot bigger than me. With tears in my eyes I slapped the fucker back every time and a week or less later we were best buds. :doh: unfortunately that turned into me having a pitbull by my side for a long while.

  25. Well, where I'm from, the figuritive meaning of a 'pitbull' is a short, skinny woman with an attitude and a "one of the guys" mentality! :left:.

  26. where I come from it's a medium sized, well built fighting dog with fierce tendencies to hear its master say "sic'em boy."The other meaning is more figurative. 🙄

Have Your Say:

