Clean

I want you guys to read a story. Now, first thing you should know is that this story isn’t one of mine, rather it’s written by one of the more talented fiction writers on this site. I’ve chosen this story because it perfectly illustrates the subject matter of this article. Before you go you should be sure to bookmark this page so that you can return here after the story and continue reading this. Have you done that? Good, now off you go and read the story. I’ll see you soon.

Ah good, you’re back. Good story isn’t it? I have trouble making it all the way through as the story is all about one of my worst fears – Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. The story may seem a little over the top but for many people around the world it’s an accurate description of thoughts that go through their heads and the ordeal they go through for something as simple as going to the toilet, or even passing a sink. Can you see now why this scares me so much? The idea of having control taken away, the knowledge that these thoughts are only in your head and can’t affect you, the inability to do anything to stop them despite this knowledge, being bound to routines through pure terror of what may happen if you break the cycle. I really don’t know how the people who suffer from OCD cope with this on a daily basis. Just reading that story is enough of an ordeal for me (that’s actually a compliment to the author, not an insult) and I can’t imagine living with it. Now for a lot of people this may seem like an over the top reaction. We’ve all seen the jokes on television and “know” that it’s just silly people who do things over and over, right? Yeah? Now imagine being one of them. Imagine that you’re one of the people who is doing these things over and over. Imagine the most vile, disgusting and painful things happening to you or your loved ones and know for sure that these things will happen if you don’t keep repeating this action until you’ve fulfilled some obscure method that means you’ve done it right. And, most of all, imagine the absolute horror of knowing that this is all in your head yet not being able to break it anyway. It terrifies me as it does many people and that’s one of the reasons why so many make light of it.

Understanding an Obsessive Compulsive Disorder is very difficult for most people as it’s actually a mixture of two separate problems in one disorder. As mentioned earlier most people associate OCD with someone who flicks the light on and off a set number of times or washes their hands repeatedly, thinking that the sufferer will soon move on after they’ve completed their ritual. The problem with that comparison is this: that would be a habit (akin to biting one’s fingernails) not a compulsion, and if you’re imagining dealing with a habit then you haven’t a clue what these people go through. Clinically speaking, a compulsion is something you feel you have to do while a habit is something you have learned to do. Taking an umbrella with you when it’s raining is a habit while taking one every single day is usually the sign of a compulsion. Compulsive disorders are quite common and chances are you have a minor one yourself. Maybe you never step on the cracks, maybe you straighten items on a table or are always tidying up. If it’s to excess then you probably have a minor compulsive disorder. If you feel uneasy or even agitated when something isn’t a certain way then it’s for sure. Of course there are many types of compulsive disorders and yours may not be as simple as taking an umbrella with you wherever you go.

I can recall a case not to long ago where a mid-twenties girl who worked as a school teacher would sleep with random strangers every single night. She wasn’t a clinical nymphomaniac and she could live a relatively normal life but she had to do this every single night, sometimes more often as she was unable to say no to anyone who propositioned her or she’d become more and more upset and unable to go on with the more mundane aspects of her life. That should illustrate that there are two potential ways to measure a compulsive disorder – by the severity of the action that one is compelled to carry out and also by how easily the sufferer can carry on with their regular lives without carrying out their routine. That particular case didn’t have a happy ending as I’m sure you can imagine. The girl was so disgusted at her actions, and treated so badly by others who became aware of her compulsion that she eventually decided to put herself out of her misery. A truly sad story. Had she had the help she needed one can only imagine that it would have ended differently.

So we can now see just how intrusive a compulsive disorder is, but what’s the difference between a compulsive disorder and an obsessive compulsive disorder? That’d rather obviously be the obsession, which again can be split into two distinct parts – obsession over the routine and obsessive, intrusive thoughts. Obviously obsession over the routine that the compulsion sufferer has increases how hard it is for them to deal with their lives if they don’t fulfill that routine’s conditions. Not only is their mind rebelling against them and telling them that they have to do something with no rational reason, but the thought wont pass at all. With a regular compulsive disorder there’s usually something that sets off the first waves of the compulsion and that may not happen all that often. However with a sufferer of OCD those “rules” no longer count and the person’s mind may simply obsess over the actual ritual without provocation. I’m sure you can agree that that’s a rather cruel twist of fate, but this disorder has yet another worse trick up it’s sleeve to run the sufferer through the wringer – obsessive thoughts, consistently telling the sufferer that bad things will happen if they don’t follow through on their compulsions. Despite all of this, most sufferers of a compulsive disorder fight those compulsions, wishing only for a normal life free of these thoughts.

Which brings us to the subject of thirty-six year old Ana Catarina Bezerra Silvares, a divorced mother of three who works for an accounting firm in Brazil. As you’ve probably guessed from the subject matter of this article, Ana suffers from a compulsive disorder. The difference between Ana and a vast majority of those who suffer from compulsive disorders is that Ana has let it define her to the point that she’s willing to take her workplace to court in an effort to get them to allow her to indulge her compulsions. I know what you’re thinking – it’s out of order for her workplace to stop her washing her hands or opening doors multiple times anyway. The thing is, Ana’s compulsive disorder is Compulsion Orgasmic, a condition that makes her constantly seek out and try to get orgasms. The legal proceedings she started against the company she works for have won her the right to masturbate for fifteen minutes for every two hours she is at work (can’t she wait until her lunch break like the rest of us do?) as well as the right to use the company computers to look up “stimulating material” to aid in her fap breaks. Can you imagine having an interview with that company (not you Dennis) and finding someone wanking away at their desk? You’d wonder what the hell you were being hired for.

Now, the thing that is remarkable about Ana’s case (apart from the fact that it opens the door for more disturbing compulsions to be played out in the workplace) is the sheer volume – the woman has had episodes where she has had to masturbate up to eighty times in a single day. “There was a day when I had to masturbate forty-seven times”, she admitted in an interview, “I began to suspect this wasn’t normal and sought medical help.” That’s when she first sought help for her condition, having presumably ignored the months this had built up over until she started to chaff. Ana is on sedatives now to keep her down to a regular eighteen masturbations per day, yet she hasn’t really had to work as hard as sufferers of other compulsive disorders. Where they work every hour to control their compulsions, Ana goes to court and fights to be able to give in to her own. Where their condition is something that upsets them and they have to endure, Ana is happy (orgasmically so) with hers and makes it something others have to endure.

Most damning of all is the fact that the news coverage of this case alone will cause a slow backlash against all compulsive disorder sufferers, as innocents who are trying to deal with their problems get caught under the same umbrella statements as this selfish woman. Be aware that, while she is not alone in letting her condition define her, she is one of the few not the majority, so please don’t judge everyone by her.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I simply can’t be up in the morning without my coffee.

24 thoughts on “Clean

  1. :whistle: fap fap fapapapapapapapap 🙂 :zzz:*wonders if her fingers are all wrinkley* You did this before :coffee: ?! :faint:

  2. Originally posted by H82typ:

    You did this before :coffee: ?

    Mik, I meant you wrote this before coffee? :p:doh:

  3. Originally posted by Furie:

    "There was a day when I had to masturbate forty-seven times", she admitted in an interview, "I began to suspect this wasn't normal and sought medical help."

    Thank God she caught it so early! :eyes: :faint:Excellently-researched and written (as usual). You got it exactly right. People with OCD can stand there and tell themselves, "What the fuck is this shit? You don't need to do this!" And their bodies just continue on their merry little way, doing whatever their particular ritual is.As for this woman, I'd say she's probably started out with some degree of OCD and found herself addicted to the rush of endorphins orgasms bring, more than anything. She's also found herself in a position (no pun intended) where she can indulge her habit (a sympathetic workplace ruling). Hopefully she's on more than tranquilizers (like something to actually treat her condition), or she's gonna find her brain simply running out of the ability to produce endorphins in the amount she's become accustomed to. Curious thing: What worked for me (ultimately) was Aropax (and I'm lucky in that I don't get side-effects from it, with the exception of getting a little tired in the afternoon). 😆 Not officially diagnosed with anything until my mid-20s, I spent months and months, then, on the 'merry-go-round' of bunches of different medications, until I found that one that worked. I tried (Prozac, Anafranil, Melleril, but, ultimately, Aropax. Yes, it was the hand-washing thing (not fapping). :no: In some parts of the world (like over your way, Mik), Aropax has been banned, because it caused some people to kill themselves. Personally, I think it was more a misdiagnosis of condition, the wrong medication given for treatment, and that medication given to people who were too young. But there you go.And here I am, nearly 40. Nowadays I barely wash my hands once every couple of months. ;)Thanks for the tip of the hat to the story. 🙂

  4. This is the one I asked to use a few months back. I've been waiting for the court case to come and go so that I could write the ending.The thing that interested me in this is that there's no such thing as Compulsion Orgasmic, the condition she reported to the court. There's hypersexuality (nymphomania to most) which causes people to go out of their way to get laid, and I've seen some horrors in that area – an elderly woman begging a mental health worker to fuck her while she clings to his leg completely naked for example. There's also compulsive behaviour which may mix together to cause her to do that as often as possible. If Ana has that then she's done a good job with her lawyer and therapist of renaming it to get a more sympathetic reaction. The story came across a little more ambivalent than I'd hoped; all "don't judge them" one second and "judge her" the next. I'd hoped to point out the difference between people that are working their arses off and still having trouble and those who work to change the world around them so that they don't have to make the effort. There's so much of that around these days and so much stigma that is transferred from that onto people who are genuinely suffering. I may give it a bit of an edit later onto try and emphasise that a bit more.I'm very prone to compulsive reactions to things, and very control oriented too, so OCD is one of my top fears along with Alzheimers and any condition that affects my identity and perception of reality. I know just enough to worry myself about it constantly (obsessively one might say). 🙄 As such, your story is one of the most terrifying things I've ever read and I immediately thought of it when I decided to write this up.Never liked these drugs that increase the likelihood of suicide. In a lot of cases it's down to the way they affect an already forming mind, cutting off their defences. The things is, minds are continually forming and evolving, meaning a lot of the problems they say are limited to youngsters can affect anyone if they're caught at the right time.

  5. Interesting! (And I feel slightly bad for laughing at the cartoon). Yet, I can't help wondering how she can get any work done at all if she's on sedatives as well as well as using her breaks and, I guess, "research" time…

  6. First off– I LOVE OCD SANTA :DNext…. Iwant to say that I wholeheartedly agre with your stance on OCD.I used your article as the springboard for today's topic. 🙂 Hope you don't mind terribbbly much >.>' lolI don't know….Some people never cease to amaze me. That bitch reallllly makes people like me look BAD!!! :eek:!!My dad claims I am using my OCD as a crutch. I asked him when I ever did that, and he jsut said nothing. I have never asked for special help or anything I will figure it out, just let my weird habbits go while I work through them. They're not intrusive and small things, mostly, outside of the time-consuming thoughts that constantly race through my head. All I want is tolerance for the fact that I may do things like tap. Maybe maybe a bit :right: (I'm working on that…lol)That lady made me angry when I read the article becasue it is just bullshit. There should be no way for her to getspecial treatment for something so outrageous. Ten bucks if it was a guy he would've lost, too. :PWell, that's my two-cents. 🙂

  7. Originally posted by shigen:

    That bitch reallllly makes people like me look BAD!!! !!

    That's what caught my eye about the story. Not only people with OCD, but people with any kind of compulsion or psychological disorder are made to look bad by people like her. Where so many work their arses off trying to conquer their demons, this one does all that she can to stop her having to work at them.Originally posted by shigen:

    My dad claims I am using my OCD as a crutch. I asked him when I ever did that, and he jsut said nothing.

    I'm not there so I can't comment on that. What I will say is that an outside view is generally more likely to catch a fault that we somehow miss ourselves. Rather than reacting and asking him when you use it as a crutch when he says it to you, try going to him without him mentioning it and raising it yourself. Tell him he's got you worried that you're not doing all you can do, and ask how you use it as a crutch in his eyes. It may open your mind to things you didn't even realise about yourself, although you have to be receptive enough to take the criticism, so make sure you're open to that. Try to talk things through maturely with him and you should end up finding something for you both to work on together, with him pointing out when you're doing something and you coming up with a way he can do that which wont make you angry.Originally posted by clean:

    That's a good point! I suspect if it was a guy, it would've been thrown out of court.

    Wouldn't it just. And they wouldn't have come up with a new name for it, they'd have branded him with a very old name – pervert.

  8. Clean & Mik: I just found that interesting. I'd rather have no one doing that while I'm trying to work in the next cubicle, but hay- What do I know?Mik: :yes: Agree.I have asked him before and he did not say anything. I tend to eventually lose my temper. He refuses to speak contructively about OCD. That is a long story. Sounds like it would make a decent post for tomorrow, actually. 😛

  9. Originally posted by shigen:

    What do I know?

    The sound of a fapless office? :left:Originally posted by shigen:

    He refuses to speak contructively about OCD. That is a long story.

    Probably has a lot to do with him being a doctor. They tend to not only be the worst patients, but the most open to the "If we don't talk about it, then it's not happening" syndrome that parents sometimes go through rather than admitting a problem with their children. This is most prevalent in cases of psychological disorders as a good parent always blames themselves even when they know they shouldn't.

  10. TRueeeee……I like that sound :DProlly also has something to do with him not being able to face his own mental illnesses :left: :PLol sorry that came out kinda mean. I can agree with your statement. Doctors are HORRIBLE patients :lol:They dealt with my brother's depression with the not-talking-about-it-thing.

  11. Spam comment was just above my previous one. Either reporting him has made all the comments of the spammer disappear throughout Opera, or Mik deleted it. Or maybe the spammer did. Either way, I said I wasn't gonna click on those links … ! 😆

Have Your Say:

