Hello

A tiny word. Only five letters in my language, and not many more in others I’d wager, but how often do we actually use it? How often have we said hello to a complete stranger, greeted them warmly? Too often we’re ashamed, afraid of seeming needy, afraid of rejection. Too often we allow that fear and shame to control us and make this world a slightly colder place. We weren’t always this way though. Think back and you’ll find a childhood where saying hello built a friendship that you knew would last a lifetime (how many actually  did, I wonder?) and was the polite and friendly thing to do. This innocence has been bred out of so many of us though and the world has become darker, colder and lonelier.

World Hello Day was thought up in 1973. Inspired by the then recent conflict between Israel and Egypt the day was set up to send a message to world leaders that communication is the most important aspect of world peace and encourage them to settle conflicts of interest via diplomacy rather than war. How successful they’ve been in that aim is up for debate, but the way in which the message was sent is something that should be of interest to anyone. Participants in World Hello Day simply have to aim to say hello to ten strangers that day, in situations they normally wouldn’t. It may not seem much but it makes the world surrounding you a brighter place to live and I think we all want that to some degree.

I encourage everyone reading this to make every day in their lives World Hello Day and to never be afraid to say hello to a stranger. Rediscover something of the child you once were and the lost innocence, and revel in it. If you can’t do that, at least enjoy the classic video.

50 thoughts on “Hello

  1. I'll do my best to participate in World Hello Day. 🙂 I'm intensely shy and have always waited for others to greet me first as a result, but I'll do my best to push myself. :up:

  2. theoddmissus writes:I agree, a single hello and a smile wouldn't hurt 🙂 Mart and I live in a neighbourhood that most of its residents are pensioners. I love it. They're very sweet and friendly creatures, sometimes a tad too friendly (I once waited for a bus with a 60ish yo lady, it started with a simple hello and the next thing I knew she was happily talking about her single, professional thai-boxing athlete, adventurer and well off son!) but it's alright, no harm done and she was actually keeping me entertained while waiting for the bus that was an hour late. I remember my Mum told me how surprised she was that the people here were so chatty and friendly that a hello was more a way of saying "nah, I'm not in the mood to be friendly today". It's kinda sad that the younger generation doesn't do that though.Oh, I haven't seen the video… On the phone.

  3. I think it was shortly after I turned 12 when I felt discouraged to walk up to a group saying "Guise, I'mma play with you" and just start playing soccer with them. Incidentally, thats when the internet really started to pick up. Though I wouldn't [properly] discover that until 16(and a half).

  4. i greet people alot these days. Complete strangers and feel like shit when they look at me like 'wtf is his problem.'Haven't been discouraged though. As flashing my tattoos and a friendly greet usually gets me a customer or two. :cool:.Oh and.. Hello.. :up:

  5. I missed Hello day yesterday, so yes please to making every day hello day. I greet a lot of people every day, and will continue to do so. 🙂

  6. In Denmark we say 'hallo', but we only use that when on the phone. If I was to say 'hallo' to someone on the street, he would probably think I was on the phone and talking to somebody else. We say 'goddag' which obviously means 'good day', or just simply 'hej'. I said 'hej' to around nine people today, three of which I didn't know. I still don't know them. They all smiled, though.

  7. I find it hard to understand how anybody can stay inside for an entire day. I have to go out. I simply can't stay in for more than four hours in a row. Then I have to leave, if not for more than just for a walk around the block.

  8. Originally posted by Aqualion:

    I find it hard to understand how anybody can stay inside for an entire day.

    If you had severe anxiety/panic issues accompanied by Agoraphobia, perhaps you could fathom it.

  9. I've been mostly in bed since I posted this. Came down with something violently that really took me down. No hellos for me. 😦

  10. Originally posted by Nerak:

    If you had severe anxiety/panic issues accompanied by Agoraphobia, perhaps you could fathom it.

    You are absolutely right about that one. People might try to understand and express their compassion, but they really don't understand unless they've been there themselves. I have the bipolar issue. People would say they understand, because they too experience highs and lows, and some of them may understand, but the currents of common life is not the same as manic depression when it unfolds.Originally posted by Furie:

    I've been mostly in bed since I posted this.

    Hope you get better. Perhaps you invested yourself to deeply in Skyrim. You mentioned something about 'king of plague' or something the other day… Shit, perhaps you got that bug from the game… Oh no, there I go being paranoid again.

  11. Always possible but I've been getting ill almost constantly since quitting smoking. I suppose the chemical change in my body has weakened it for a while.I'll be fine. Just being a pussy over a cold is all. To be fair to myself, I didn't get one until I was thirty so I'm reacting like a four year old to it because that's all the experience I've had with it. Damn former healthiness biting me in the ass…I quite like Terve. It's a good word and now mine. I'll allow you guys to use it too though. 😉

  12. In Serbia, we use "zdravo" in everyday life, when meeting friends and people we know very well. It could be translated as "be healthy". In more relaxed manner Italian "ciao" is used, too. Something that is left from 60s and 70s I think :left:

  13. Originally posted by Aqualion:

    I have the bipolar issue. People would say they understand, because they too experience highs and lows, and some of them may understand, but the currents of common life is not the same as manic depression when it unfolds.

    I've got Bi-Polar Disorder as well as the aforementioned issues. I feel your pain. :down:

  14. Originally posted by Nerak:

    I feel your pain.

    Actually, I am quite alright. Haven't had any 'fits' for five, six years. I am not medicated or anything. As long as I stay off the drink, I experience no problems at all. Ten, fifteen years ago – now, that was a totally different story. Back then, I could spent three weeks doing nothing but sitting around feeling sorry for myself and then over night turn into the richest big-spender in the World and spent an entire month's wage in six hours. Much to everybody's surprise, all this stopped when I quit drinking. I do sometimes feel low and tired, especially around this time of year, but I haven't had any 'elated periods' for a very long time.However, thanks for caring. Likewise. 😉

  15. You know, I find that idea of 'intelligent design' quite amusing. You know, the fundamental Christians who seem to believe that God actually knew what he was doing when he created the World. So, in Scandinavia it rains 171 days per year, and in Somalia or Eritrea it rains one week every second year – if they're lucky. The problem is: we don't need the rain. We have enough water as it is, in the ground, but the peoples on Africa's Horn need the water.Intelligent? I don't know about that. A more even supply of natural water would have been considerate, I think.

  16. Originally posted by Furie:

    Those with too much water providing those with too little, those with too much food providing those with too little. It all makes sense.

    Shit, I can't believe how naive you dieties are…

  17. I was busy and didn't pay attention to everything when making this place. So what if there's a few cut corners, I gave you lot free will and you should be able to use it to smooth over those problems easily. Those with too much water providing those with too little, those with too much food providing those with too little. It all makes sense.

  18. :DSo, the way you make it piss down is just simple revenge because we don't sacrifice cows and shit anymore? It figures. Typical god.

  19. Originally posted by Furie:

    Cutting off our food supply then calling us "dieties" instead of deities is sure to earn some wrath.

    There you have it. I rest my case. I can make subtle, intellectual jokes without even trying to. I can't believe how awesome I am… Or should I say: I can't beleive…;)Sometimes typos make more sense than correct spelling. That's my excuse anyway…

  20. Ketchup is okay with fries, if there's no mayonnaise, but I never had lightning bolts to my fries. I think I might have had a lightning bolt and a chaser at a bar once or twice, it surely felt so, but that's something entirely different… Speaking of religion…

Have Your Say:

