Out With The Old…

I, for one, will be kind of glad to see the back of 2011. I’ve tried not to show it here but the year has been one string of mishaps and mayhem after another for me. Financial troubles, personal problems, health problems and the ever-creeping aches and pains of age have all caught up with me this year. Each had been relentless in their pursuit of me and each decided that they’d take it in turns to batter me about a bit. Sometimes they ganged up on me and other times they let me rest just enough to think that the hard times were over before coming back and slapping me about the face again. It happens, and this isn’t a post to whine about these problems, merely to acknowledge they were there.

I have no illusions about the new year. I don’t think that the turning of a clock will make any of my problems magically go away or that I somehow will have none of these problems in 2012. However, there is something about the coming of the new year; a symbolic renewing of the world. If ever there was a time to put aside old problems and look to the future it’s now. If ever there were a time to start something new, it’s now. So while my problems may well continue into the new year, I’ll be looking forward with a little bit of hope and the wisdom that these problems have brought to me.

Photo taken during the Canadian riots early this year.

As the police push back crowds on both sides of the camera, a lone couple finds beauty amidst the chaos.

This has always been my way too. Not making out with strange girls in the middle of the road while a city burns around us (not since my teen years anyway), but finding the glimmer of light when all else seems black. It’s a talent I have and one I wish I could share with so many of you. It allowed me to look forward through all of the problems I’ve dealt with this year and see the end in sight. It allows me to see the many wonders of the coming year. It allows me to know that however dark the coming days may be, there will always be a light in that darkness, even if that light has to be me. I urge as many of you as possible to pick up that mantle and be the light needed in this world.

That may well sound a little preachy but it’s not what you think. I’m not telling you to set up a stone walled compound to keep the armed police out while you preach the word of me (although, if you really want to…), but rather to go out into the world and be what is so badly needed these days – genuinely good people. Think where you’d normally pass someone by and help them instead. Even if it is just a single person helped in a tiny way, that’s more than they would have had before. Make this world better by example and maybe, just maybe, some of it will filter back to me and give me a better year in 2012.

What? Did you think this was selfless? πŸ˜‰

40 thoughts on “Out With The Old…

  1. Wise words there.I do hope karma (the good kind of course) gets around to you and that we will be seeing more of you around in 2012! πŸ˜€

  2. 2011 was quite the bitch of a year for the most part. I think 2012 will be much better…especially if we all take it upon ourselves to do what you've suggested. :up:

  3. "The Canadian Riots" ? You make me laugh. It's a great photo but destined to be perpetually taken out of context. 2011 was the best year of my life despite the fact my team lost that game. hehe.

  4. I actually had a relatively good year too. Aint getting younger but that's beside the point. 2011 was fairly uneventful and that counts as a good year to me.

  5. Originally posted by sanshan:

    "The Canadian Riots" ? You make me laugh.

    It was reported in the papers here as the entirety of of Canada rising up and going crazy over a hockey game. The articles had a mildly condescending American sitcom view of Canada, but that photo stands out. πŸ™„ Also supposedly the inspiration for the riots in the "Arab world" (man that felt kinda racist to type) against the oppressive regimes in some countries there. And that went on to inspire the riots in this country where a load of tossers wanted to loot and fight but couldn't come up with a decent reason behind it so blamed the rich for having shops like Poundland. :irked:Originally posted by sanshan:

    2011 was the best year of my life

    Not every year you land a giant eh? πŸ˜‰ Especially when he's one of the nicest guys around. We approve of your choice wholeheartedly.Whether you lot had a good year or a bad one, it's going to be better this year. If only because you'll be seeing more of me on this place. :yes: Happy new year to you all.

  6. Originally posted by Mik:

    …it's going to be better this year…

    I'm going to hold you to that, Mik. :wait:*contacts lawyers about possible litigation*

  7. Well, hopefully there will be more better events this year to be proud of. Even though somehow I am not sure about that. World has its own spin regardless of what we want and wish. And, I hope some of that goodness will come your way too. And my way too :POriginally posted by Aqualion:

    Aint getting younger but that's beside the point.

    Yup, I noticed that :awww:

  8. Oh Dennis, when have I ever given a prediction that didn't come true? Seriously, have a look through the blogs and comments some time and you'll see what I mean.

  9. Originally posted by Furie:

    Not every year you land a giant eh?

    :doh: Oh…I thought you were talking about fishing for a minute there. I did have to lure him in with a lot of bacon though. :chef:

  10. Originally posted by Furie:

    when have I ever given a prediction that didn't come true

    That's actually why I keep urging you to try your luck in the world of journalism (well, I did mention it one or two times). Seriously… You have the touch. :up:

  11. Originally posted by Mik:

    Whether you lot had a good year or a bad one, it's going to be better this year.

    That's a great way of putting it! I'm glad you fought your way through the year so we can cancel that truce. :yes:

  12. the end of 2009 and most if not all of 2010 were approximately the worst years of my life (so far), 2011 was, generally, both somewhat happy and hugely anguished, mostly at the same time. Occasionally there was a 'very happy' creeping in πŸ™‚ Not sorry to see those days gone, but. I have high expectations of 2012 on a personal level, and on a world level I expect nothing to change for the better in the slightest πŸ™‚

  13. Martin – I got the power too. When all hell's breaking loose I'll be riding the eye of the storm. :up:San – I may have been. :left:*has vision of Darko held up in a photo by a woman wearing a fishing outfit*Kitten – strike me down now and I shall become more powerful than you can possibly imagine. :pAadil – did you not notice the distinct lack of flayed cats around the place this Christmas. I didn't even get the traditional Santa out. :whistle:Nick – don't forget that you have to surprise the wifeling every single Sunday. πŸ˜‰

  14. I haven't forgotten : every single Sunday is the absolute minimum requirement, and now is a feature, rather than a surprise, and soon will become the accepted standard behaviour, remarkable only if it fails to materialise. I'm good with that πŸ™‚

  15. Originally posted by Furie:

    I got the power too. When all hell's breaking loose I'll be riding the eye of the storm.

    I'm touched. And proud. You guys must know, I taught him everything he knows. I so love when a plan comes together.

  16. Originally posted by FlaRin:

    I haven't forgotten : every single Sunday is the absolute minimum requirement, and now is a feature, rather than a surprise, and soon will become the accepted standard behaviour, remarkable only if it fails to materialise. I'm good with that

    So begins the cycle of domestic abuse for poor Nick. Soon the words "Where's my present!!!" will leave him a nervous wreck.

  17. You don't understand. I have previously lived a life of domestic unhappiness, and this kind of domestic abuse would be bliss, at the minimum πŸ™‚

  18. I don't know what to say to that beyond "Bitches be crazy, yo!" and I'd feel way too self-conscious to do that without blacking up first, which is frowned upon in polite society for some reason. :rolleyes:So, apropos to nothing, anyone got any boot polish? :left:

  19. Go redhead and pretend to be an albino, probably easier and less socially inappropriate than covering yourself with boot polish πŸ™‚

  20. You know what would be funny and unexpected if Mik ever went to a Halloween/costume party? Going as a chav. Seriously. Funny because of the contrast between how he actually is and the chav stereotype. Don't know why that popped into my head, but there you go.

  21. πŸ˜† That would work! @Mik: New Jersey? New Jersey?! Your father was Welsh, and your mother smells of elderberries! :p

  22. I, too, had no idea what a chav was, though I was relatively certain it had nothing to do with things automotive. It would be funny to see Mik dressed (& coloured-up) as Mr. T, though! πŸ˜†

Have Your Say:

