The Bradbury Predictions

So, last week Venus passed between the Earth and the Sun. As a result the passing of renowned science fiction author Ray Bradbury was sort of lost amongst the news. It actually shocked me that I haven’t heard much about his death, especially as it happened during a real once in a  lifetime astronomical event. The New York Times’ obituary correctly stated that Bradbury was the writer most responsible for bringing modern science fiction into the literary mainstream but it was The Washington Post that hallmarked several modern day technologies that Bradbury had envisioned much earlier in his writing, such as the idea of twenty-four hour banking with ATMs (robot tellers in the book) and earbud headphones and Bluetooth headsets from Fahrenheit 451, and the concepts of artificial intelligence.

 

As you can see from the infographic above (click for a larger version), Bradbury predicted several other scientific developments accurately in the stories he wrote. He truly was a visionary and the world is lesser for his passing.

13 thoughts on “The Bradbury Predictions

  1. Especially his short story about the guy who destroys all radios in a world where there's loud radio-music everywhere, brainwashing people. It makes you think about how you live. Only in the real future (our present) there's image as well as sound. Also another story about the pedestrian who enjoys walking. In a world where everybody drives cars and stays inside (at the radio) when not in tve car, this guy actually gets arrested for literally going his own way.My favourite Bradbury story is The Martian Chronicles. In this one, Bradbury allows himself to be poetic. A true modern epic.He is with the stars now.

  2. Originally posted by Aqualion:

    Also another story about the pedestrian who enjoys walking. In a world where everybody drives cars and stays inside (at the radio) when not in tve car, this guy actually gets arrested for literally going his own way.

    That's me in a few years time! 🙄 .

  3. I wonder how many know that he wrote at least three mysteries, as well … the first is Death Is A Lonely Business, and I can't remember the other(s).

  4. Originally posted by qlue:

    Originally posted by Aqualion: Also another story about the pedestrian who enjoys walking. In a world where everybody drives cars and stays inside (at the radio) when not in tve car, this guy actually gets arrested for literally going his own way.That's me in a few years time!

    It was me before I bought a bicycle 😛

  5. Originally posted by Furie:

    I'm not allowed to drive. Too much damage in my first lesson.

    I broke a gearbox in my first lesson! :whistle: .

  6. Originally posted by derWandersmann:

    A real gear-jammer, are you?

    Those Nissan 1400's aren't all that tough! 🙄 .Originally posted by Furie:

    I crashed into two other learners while we were parked at a T-junction.

    😮

  7. Hello My name is Cynthia and i seek for true friendship andpartner so i contacted you, please if you don't mind i will likeyou to reply my mail back so i can send you my pictureand tell you more about me,Cynthia……my email..(cynthiajobe2011@yahoo.ca)Kisses

Have Your Say:

