Let It Snow

It’s December 1st and the run up to Christmas has begun. For those of you new to WordPress, and I know a lot came over from the same closing site I’m from, I thought I’d let you in on one of the unique features of this site – snow. That’s right folks, that snow you see falling on this page is actually a WordPress general feature.

A white Christmas can be yours if you follow these simple instructions;

  1. Click on the following link –Ā https://wordpress.com/settings/account/
  2. When there you’ll be presented with a screen and at the bottom you will find the option to turn the snow feature on.
    The arrow magically shows where to the option is because MAGIC!!!

    Click To Expand

     

  3. Simply turn that on and leave it. The snow will automatically turn itself off at the start of January and turn itself back on when December rolls around again.

I believe some themes have their own options to control the amount of snowfall and even have detailed flakes, but those are mostly the premium themes. This particular feature should work with everything out there, although it may be tough to see at first on white themes. Also, you may have to clear your cache to see it after activation.

51 thoughts on “Let It Snow

  1. Oh, that’s fun. I will try it on my blog now šŸ˜€ Even though rain is all we have in Vancouver at the moment šŸ˜›

  2. Doesn’t work on the phone, of course, but that didn’t surprise me. Nice feature when viewed from the PC.. Won’t be using it, though. In a matter of days we’ll have enough snow outside to satisfy any craving I might have.

    • I remember real snow. Didn’t have any for a good decade, ever since the night I was noodle sick, and then it started again out of nowhere.

      I still remember making a full size igloo when I was in school and being too afraid to go inside.

  3. Hm, I never got info of the comments back to me, even though I checked that little box down there. I will still need to get used to WP….

    • I think you need to set that up in your reader. If you’ve got it set to weekly then it may only send weekly emails to alert you. Just a guess, of course.

    • No, I just checked, it’s set to Instant e-mail delivery. And it worked now because I got e-mails about new comments here. Well, anyway, I remember where I commented so it’s not a big trouble to go and check šŸ™‚
      I think WP might have been shocked by a sudden arrival of OC hordes šŸ˜†

    • In the Reader there’s an item called ‘Comments I Made’. It will get you all comments made on threads you participated in. At least that’s what I get. However, like WP in general, comments will get tossed about, seemingly randomly, when you get them in this function.

Have Your Say:

